Back Bay Blues

(Author)
Backorder (temporarily out of stock)
1 other format in stock!
4.9/5.0
21,000+ Reviews
Bookshop.org has the highest-rated customer service of any bookstore in the world
Product Details
Price
$26.00  $24.18
Publisher
Kensington Publishing Corporation
Publish Date
Pages
272
Dimensions
5.6 X 8.5 X 1.1 inches | 0.8 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781496723420

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate
About the Author
Peter Colt is a currently a police officer in a small New England city where he has worked for the since 2007. He spent over twenty years in the Army reserve and was deployed to Kosovo in 2000, where he was attached to the Russian Army. He was deployed to Iraq in 2003 and again in 2008. He was fortunate to get to know many Vietnam vets and U.S. Army Special forces soldiers. He lived on Nantucket Island from 1973-1986. He's currently working on the next Andy Roark mystery.
Reviews
Praise for Peter Colt and The Off-Islander

"Entertaining . . . Like Philip Marlowe--or Robert Parker's Spenser--Andy has a sharp eye for telling detail and male haberdashery. Those who enjoy newish reworkings of classic PI tropes will be satisfied."
--Publisher Weekly

"If you like your mysteries to be old-school in the vein of John D. MacDonald, or even farther back to Raymond Chandler or Dashiell Hammett, then you will appreciate this striking debut by Peter Colt. Long on atmosphere, detail, and character, it could place detective Andy Roark amongst the classic noir sleuths."
--Raymond Benson, author of Blues in the Dark

"New England police officer Colt's first novel is a boozy pipe dream of a private eye's search for a long-missing father . . . [with] lots of attitude."
--Kirkus Reviews

"This atmospheric debut mystery should appeal to fans of the early works of Dennis Lehane and Robert B. Parker."
--Library Journal

"By the end of the book . . . the reader has been taken for a long, exciting ride . . . We are told that this is not the last of the Andy Roark novels. I look forward to the next one."
--Vietnam Veterans of America

"Readers yearning for a noir mystery in the vein of Mike Hammer or Sam Spade are in luck. Peter Colt has delivered just such a tale of intrigue. . . . Colt, an Army veteran who served in Kosovo and Iraq and now is a police officer in a small New England city, captures his firsthand, on-the-job experience in moody prose. The novel spends nearly as much time exploring Roark's inner demons from the Vietnam War and life afterward as it does with the case at hand, adding a deeply evocative perspective to events."
--Bookpage