All the Right Notes

(Author)
Available
4.9/5.0
21,000+ Reviews
Bookshop.org has the highest-rated customer service of any bookstore in the world
Product Details
Price
$15.99  $14.87
Publisher
Forever
Publish Date
Pages
384
Dimensions
5.1 X 8.0 X 1.1 inches | 0.7 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781538725382

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate
About the Author
Dominic Lim has enjoyed a lifelong love affair with music. Dominic holds a master's from Indiana University Jacobs School of Music, is an alum of the Oberlin Conservatory of Music, and has sung with numerous professional choral ensembles. As a proud member of the Actors' Equity Association, he has performed Off-Broadway and in regional productions throughout the US. Although he probably shouldn't admit to having favorites, the thrill of singing "This is the Hour" in the chorus of Miss Saigon still pops up in his dreams.
Dom supports his local writing community as a member of the Writers Grotto and as a co-host of San Francisco's Babylon Salon. He lives in Oakland with his loving and supportive partner, Peter, and their whiny cat, Phoebe.
Reviews
"Light and charming, with a hint of snark, this is a promising start for Lim."--Publishers Weekly
"All the Right Notes is a rainbow-sprinkled delight that hits the perfect beats of a rom-com. The inventively-told story features fun, moving and complex characters, wrapped in Dominic Lim's fresh voice. I particularly loved all the music references. The only way to best express how much joy you'll feel is to break out into song."
--Sidney Karger, author of Best Men
"This book will make you sing. Lim has composed the perfect second chance romance. All the Right Notes blends laugh-out-loud humor with the poignancy of imperfect people finding joy in an imperfect world. The alternating past-present storytelling perfectly captures the longing of youth and the regrets of lost love. I couldn't stop cheering for Quinto and Emmett. They can live rent free in my mind for a long time. There's no way you will finish this novel and not be in love with Quinto, Emmett, Ujima, and Mr. Cruz."
--Karelia Stetz-Waters, author of Behind the Scenes

"Fun and effervescent.. There's a lot of promise in Lim's debut...with its dual-timeline storytelling, charming cast, and love of show tunes."

--Kirkus
"All the Right Notes is a love letter to family, queer love, and music, handled with passion and skill. The romance burns with tension, and the details of Filipino food had me continuously hungry. I loved it."--Anita Kelly, author of Something Wild & Wonderful
"With its incisively etched, marvelously inclusive cast of characters, perfectly polished writing lightly dusted with sly wit, and swoon-worthy sexual chemistry, Lim's soul-nourishing debut not only perfectly captures the hope and heartbreak of two people falling in love, but also music's power to transform lives."--John Charles, Booklist (starred review)
"A lyrical, romantic debut with tender, moving notes about Filipino American families and queer love stories. Perfect for fans of Casey McQuiston and Alexis Hall, this is a must-have for library shelves. With a relatable queer protagonist, this uplifting book portrays the power of owning one's truth. Heartfelt, poignant writing and iconic supporting characters boost Quito's story. The friends-to-lovers trope is wonderfully accomplished, full of sweet yearning and perfect harmony."--Library Journal (starred review)
"A romance with the irresistible melody of a Broadway hit. Lim offers up a swoony, joyful rom-com to take readers into a love story worthy of a Broadway stage." --Entertainment Weekly