Age of Empyre


Product Details

$9.99  $9.29
Riyria Enterprises LLC
Publish Date
4.2 X 7.4 X 1.3 inches | 0.55 pounds
Mass Market Paperbound

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Michael J. Sullivan is a New York Times (3 titles), USA Today (3 titles), and Washington Post hardcover (2 titles) bestselling author, and no one is more surprised by those facts than he. When just a boy, Michael found a typewriter in the basement of a friend's house, inserted a blank piece of paper, and typed, "It was a dark and stormy night." He was just ten years old and mimicking the only writer he knew at the time: Snoopy. That spark ignited a flame, and Michael's desire to fill blank pages became a life-long obsession. As an adult, Michael spent more than ten years developing his craft by studying authors such as Stephen King, Ernest Hemingway, and John Steinbeck. During that time, he wrote thirteen novels but garnered no interest from the publishing industry. Since insanity is repeating the same action while expecting a different result, he made the rational choice and quit, vowing never to write creatively again.

Never turned out to be too long for Michael, and after a decade, he returned to the keyboard in his forties, but with one condition: He wouldn't seek publication. Instead, he wrote a series of books that had been building in his head during his hiatus. His first reading love was fantasy, and he hoped to foster a similar reaction in his then thirteen-year-old daughter who struggled due to dyslexia. After reading the third book of this series, his wife insisted that the novels had to "get out there." When Michael refused to jump back onto the query-go-round, Robin took over the publication tasks, and she has run the business side of his writing ever since.

Currently, Michael is a hybrid author with nineteen novels released through big-five publishers, a small press, or indie-produced.

  • The Riyria Revelations: 6 books sold as 3 two-book omnibus editions from Orbit (fantasy imprint of Hachette Book Group) -- Theft of Swords - Rise of Empire - Heir of Novron

  • The Riyria Chronicles: 2 books released from Orbit, 2 indie-produce, 1 in production -- The Crown Tower - The Rose and the Thorn - The Death of Dulgath - The Disappearance of Winter's Daughter - Drumindor (release date TBD)

  • Legends of the First Empire: 3 books released from Del Rey (fantasy imprint of Penguin Random House) and 3 indie-published) -- Age of Myth - Age of Swords - Age of War -Age of Legend -Age of Death - Age of Empyre

  • The Rise and Fall Trilogy: all indie-published -- Nolyn - Farilane - Esrahaddon (coming 2023)

  • Standalone science fiction thriller: released by Tachyon Publications -- Hollow World

Michael's stories center around unlikely heroes who rise to the occasion when history comes knocking. Unlike much of modern fantasy, which focuses on dark themes and anti-heroes, Michael's stories are optimistic and infused with humor, fast-paced plotting, and epic adventure.


If you enjoy epic fantasy, and are perhaps hungering for something with timeless appeal, then I highly recommend picking up Age of Myth.--The BiblioSanctum
Heroes will be born in the most unlikely way when women show perseverance, tenacity, resilience and truest of intentions.--Zirev, on Age of Swords
The characters feel alive and I deeply cared for them, the threat is terrible, the enemy is merciless and the fate of the human race is in the balance.--The Audiobook Blog, on Age of Swords
A fast-paced, compelling read . . . There's betrayal and love, and some electric dialogue. . . . There's battles, and costs, triumphs and consequences.--Sci-Fi and Fantasy Reviews, on Age of Swords
Fans of David Eddings and Robert Jordan will feel right at home with this series.--sfRevu, on Age of Swords