(Author) (Translator)
21,000+ Reviews has the highest-rated customer service of any bookstore in the world
Product Details
$16.99  $15.80
Amazon Crossing
Publish Date
5.53 X 8.32 X 0.38 inches | 0.51 pounds

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate
About the Author

Zhang Ling is the award-winning author of ten novels and numerous collections of novellas and short stories, including A Single Swallow, translated by Shelly Bryant; Where Waters Meet, her first novel written in English; Gold Mountain Blues; and Aftershock, which was adapted into China's first IMAX movie with unprecedented box office success. Born in China, she moved to Canada in 1986 and, in the mid-1990s, began to write and publish fiction in Chinese while working as a clinical audiologist. Since then, she has won the Chinese Media Literature Award for Author of the Year, the Grand Prize of Overseas Chinese Literary Award, and Chinese Times's Open Book Award.

Shelly Bryant divides her year between Shanghai and Singapore, working as a poet, writer, and translator. She is the author of eleven volumes of poetry, a pair of travel guides for the cities of Suzhou and Shanghai, a book on classical Chinese gardens, and a short story collection. She has translated Chinese text for publishers such as Penguin Books and various organizations, including the National Library Board in Singapore and the Human Sciences Research Council. Her translation of Sheng Keyi's Northern Girls was long-listed for the Man Asian Literary Prize in 2012, and her translation of You Jin's In Time, Out of Place was short-listed for the Singapore Literature Prize in 2016. Shelly received a Distinguished Alumni award from Oklahoma Christian University in 2017.

"This beautiful, quietly profound story examines the resilience and fragility of humans in the face of disaster. But at its heart, Aftershock is about family and how we protect the ones we love." --Booklist