A Thousand Beginnings and Endings

Available

Product Details

Price
$10.99  $10.22
Publisher
Greenwillow Books
Publish Date
Pages
352
Dimensions
5.3 X 7.9 X 0.9 inches | 0.6 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780062671165

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Elsie Chapman grew up in Prince George, Canada, and has a degree in English literature from the University of British Columbia. She is the author of the YA novels Dualed, Divided, and Along the Indigo, the middle grade novel All the Ways Home, and the coeditor of A Thousand Beginnings and Endings and Hungry Hearts. She currently lives in Tokyo, Japan, with her family. You can visit her online at ElsieChapman.com.
MELISSA DE LA CRUZ is the #1 New York Times, #1 Publisher's Weekly and #1 Indie Bound bestselling author of many critically acclaimed and award-winning novels for readers of all ages, and edited the inspiring anthology of true stories, Because I Was a Girl. She grew up in Manila and moved to San Francisco with her family, where she graduated high school salutatorian from The Convent of the Sacred Heart. At Columbia University, she majored in art history and English. Melissa de la Cruz lives in West Hollywood with her husband and daughter.
Lori M. Lee was born in the mountains of Laos. Her family relocated to a refugee camp in Thailand for a few years and then moved permanently to the United States when she was three. She has a borderline-obsessive fascination with unicorns, is fond of talking in Caps Lock, and loves to write about magic, manipulation, and family. She currently lives in Wisconsin with her husband, kids, and a friendly pit bull. She is the author of Gates of Thread and Stone. Visit her at www.lorimlee.com.
E.C. Myers is the author of the Andre Norton Award-winning Fair Coin and Quantum Coin, young adult science fiction novels published by Pyr, and the acclaimed young adult thriller The Silence of Six from Adaptive Books.
Cindy Pon is the author of Silver Phoenix, which was named one of the Top Ten Fantasy and Science Fiction Books for Youth by Booklist, and one of 2009's Best Fantasy, Science Fiction and Horror by VOYA. Serpentine and Sacrifice were both Junior Library Guild selections and received starred reviews from School Library Journal and Kirkus Reviews, respectively. She also wrote Want, which is a Freeman Book Award Honorable Mention and Ruse. She is the cofounder of Diversity in YA with Malinda Lo and on the advisory board of We Need Diverse Books. Cindy is also a Chinese brush painting student of over a decade. Learn more about her books and art at CindyPon.com.

Shveta Thakrar's debut novel, Star Daughter, is a standalone YA fantasy perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman, Laini Taylor, and Margaret Rogerson. Shveta's work has appeared in a number of magazines and anthologies, including Enchanted Living, Uncanny Magazine, and Toil & Trouble. You can find her online at www.shvetathakrar.com and on Twitter and Instagram at @ShvetaThakrar.

Alyssa Wong is still studying writing even though she already has a Nebula Award and has been shortlisted for the Pushcart Prize, Bram Stoker, Locus, and Shirley Jackson awards. Her work has appeared in The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction, Strange Horizons, Nightmares, Black Static, and Tor.com. She lives in Raleigh, North Carolina.

Renee Ahdieh is a graduate of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. In her spare time, she likes to dance salsa and collect shoes. She is passionate about all kinds of curry, rescue dogs, and college basketball. She lives in Charlotte, North Carolina, with her husband and their tiny overlord of a dog.

ROSHANI CHOKSHI is the award-winning author of the New York Times bestselling series the Star-Touched Queen and the Gilded Wolves, as well as of Aru Shah and the End of Time, which Time magazine named one of the 100 Best Fantasy Books of All Time. Her novels have been translated into more than two dozen languages and often draw upon world mythology and folklore. Chokshi is a member of the National Leadership Board for the Michael C. Carlos Museum and lives in Georgia with her husband and their cat.

Julie Kagawa is the New York Times, USA Today, and internationally bestselling author of The Iron Fey, Blood of Eden, The Talon Saga, and the Shadow of the Fox series. Born in Sacramento, she has been a bookseller and an animal trainer and enjoys reading, painting, playing in her garden, and training in martial arts. She lives in North Carolina with her husband and a plethora of pets. Follow her on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram.
Aisha Saeed is the author of Written in the Stars, which was listed as a Best Book of 2015 by Bank Street Books, a 2016 YALSA Quick Pick for Reluctant Readers, and named one of the Top Ten Books All Young Georgians Should Read in 2016. She is also the author of the middle grade novel Amal Unbound, which has received starred reviews from Publishers Weekly and Kirkus Reviews and is a Global Read Aloud for 2018. Her other picture books include Bilal Cooks Daal and The Together Tree. Aisha is a founding member of the nonprofit We Need Diverse Books. She has been featured on MTV, HuffPost, NBC, and the BBC, and her writings have appeared in publications including the journal ALAN and the Orlando Sentinel.

Sona Charaipotra is the author of Symptoms of a Heartbreak and How Maya Got Fierce, and co-author of The Rumor Game and Tiny Pretty Things, now a Netflix original series. She earned a master's degree in screenwriting from NYU and an MFA in creative writing from the New School. A working journalist, Sona has held editorial roles at People, TeenPeople, ABCNews.com, MSN, several parenting publications, the Barnes & Noble Teen Blog (RIP), and, most recently, as senior editor of trends and features at Parents.com. She has contributed to publications from the New York Times to TeenVogue. She is a former We Need Diverse Books board member, and she cofounded CAKE Literary, a boutique book packager focused on high concept diverse titles. Find her on the web talking about books, Bollywood movies, and chai.

Naomi Kanakia's novels include We Are Totally Normal and Enter Title Here. Additionally, her stories have appeared in Asimov's Science Fiction, Clarkesworld, Fantasy & Science Fiction, Lightspeed, Indiana Review, and Nature. She has received fellowships from the Virginia Center for the Creative Arts and the Lambda Literary Foundation. Originally from Washington, DC, Naomi now lives in San Francisco.

Ellen Oh

is the cofounder of We Need Diverse Books and author of the award-winning Spirit Hunters series for middle grade readers and the Prophecy trilogy (Prophecy, Warrior, and King) for young adults. Originally from New York City, Ellen is a former adjunct college instructor and lawyer with an insatiable curiosity for ancient Asian history. Ellen lives in Bethesda, Maryland, with her husband and three children and has yet to satisfy her quest for a decent bagel. You can visit her online at www.ellenoh.com.

Reviews

"Contrary to our Disney-fied expectations, not every story has a happy ending -- yet another facet to this fine compilation that enhances its ability to surprise, intrigue and delight."--Chicago Tribune
"This collection fills a gap in modern retellings of fairy tales and myths by presenting non-European myths. ...Give to fans of Marissa Meyer's "Lunar Chronicles" or Rick Riordan's Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard. An excellent first purchase for all libraries."--School Library Journal (starred review)
"Outstanding...Each story is followed by a missive from its author, sharing inspiration and background on creative choices and changes. Thoughtfully compiled and written, this compendium is a must-read."--Publishers Weekly (starred review)
"A collection of Asian myths and legends in which beloved stories of spirits, magic, family, love, and heartbreak are combined with elements from modern teens' lives....With such a variety of emotion and experiences to explore, nearly any teen can find something to relate to...An incredible anthology that will keep readers on the edges of their seats, wanting more."--Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
"Authors Oh and Chapman have created this much-needed anthology of Asian myths and folktales. ...It's a wonderful concept, and the styles and subjects are as diverse as the countries and cultures represented. ...these stories are for everyone."--Booklist
"Oh and Chapman bring together fifteen authors with Asian roots to reinterpret stories from throughout Asia, creating a collection that...explores the traditional folktale motifs of fate, vengeance, goodness, and love. ...an inventiveness on par with Bardugo's folktale revisions in The Language of Thorns."--Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
"All of these stories achieve emotional depth and connection while showcasing each storyteller's unique literary voice."--The Horn Book
"Fifteen acclaimed Asian and Asian-American authors breathe fresh life into 15 popular Asian folktales and myths, elevating this anthology to a higher level...Oh and Chapman have created a work that celebrates Asian storytelling. It should fill...the reader with wonder."--BookPage