A Possibility of Whales

Backorder (temporarily out of stock)

Product Details

Price
$8.95
Publisher
Algonquin Young Readers
Publish Date
Pages
288
Dimensions
5.4 X 8.2 X 0.7 inches | 0.5 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781616209261

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Karen Rivers's books have been nominated for a wide range of literary awards and have been published in multiple languages. When she's not writing, reading, or visiting schools, she can usu­ally be found hiking in the forest that flourishes behind her tiny old house in Victoria, British Columbia, where she lives with her two kids, two dogs, and two birds. Find her online at karenrivers.com and on Twitter: @karenrivers.

Reviews

"A remarkable novel . . . Nat's witty and vulnerable voice drives the novel, from her wry observations about contemporary celebrity culture to the thoughtful collection of untranslatable words that help define her world. The chapters that center Harry's perspective are just as strong, emphasizing his desire to be seen and understood, not as an abstract exemplar of a transgender child but as an individual. The novel avoids offering simple solutions for questions of identity and adolescence, instead reveling in life's nuance and complexity. Perfect for fans of Raymie Nightingale and Counting by Sevens, Rivers' latest work brings an improbable combination of elements together in an unforgettable story that is quirky and wise."
--School Library Journal

"Charming and sweet as it explores personal identity, life changes, love, and, of course, whales . . . Nat's story of self-discovery is sure to inspire anyone searching for their place in the world."
--Foreword Reviews

"A coming-of-age story that's both relatable and moving . . . [Rivers] strikes the perfect tone of innocence, confusion and a touch of obstinance with Natalia, as she wades into the wild world of growing up . . . a bright, optimistic book that touches on growing up, celebrity visibility, transgender topics and more -- refreshingly, and without being too weighed down with any insurmountably sombre notes."
--Vancouver Sun