A Play of Shadow

Backorder
4.9/5.0
21,000+ Reviews
Bookshop.org has the highest-rated customer service of any bookstore in the world
Product Details
Price
$20.00  $18.60
Publisher
Daw Books
Publish Date
Pages
608
Dimensions
6.0 X 8.9 X 1.7 inches | 1.25 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780756408312

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate
About the Author
Julie E. Czerneda is a biologist and writer whose science fiction has received international acclaim, awards, and best-selling status. She is the author of the popular "Species Imperative" trilogy, the "Web Shifters" series, the "Trade Pact Universe" trilogy and her new "Stratification" novels. She was a finalist for the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer. Her stand-alone novel, In the Company of Others, won Canada's Prix Aurora Award and was a finalist for the Philip K. Dick Award for Distinguished SF. Julie lives with her husband and two children in the lake country of central Ontario, under skies so clear they could take seeing the Milky Way for granted, but never do. You can find her at www.czerneda.com.
Reviews
"An enchanting and gentle fable, rich with detail and characters you will love." -- Charles de Lint

"A warm and intricate fantasy opus with large themes woven into a charming story." -- Charlaine Harris

"Science fiction author Czerneda will charm fantasy readers with multidimensional characters, a vivid setting, and powerful themes of hope and renewal." -- Publishers Weekly

"Known for her powerful and insightful sf novels, Czerneda brings the same exacting sensibility to her brilliant fantasy debut. Her characters are both charming and believable, and Jenn, her friend Wisp, and the soldier Bannan stand out as memorable and utterly real.... Fans of L.E. Modesitt Jr. and Charles de Lint will love this fantastic and magical fable." -- Library Journal

"I was captivated by Julie Czerneda's A Turn of Light. Yep, she used her writerly powers and sucked me right in. Many fantasy novels out there are about magic. Few, like Julie's, embody it." -- Kristen Britain (for A Turn of Light)

"Luminous and beguiling. With Marrowdell and its enchanting inhabitants, Julie Czerneda has conjured a world that readers can sink into and disappear. I lost myself to this tale that is, by turns, lovely, lyrical, and thrilling. This book is a feast for the mind and the heart." -- Lesley Livingston

"A Turn of Light is a gorgeous creation. Julie Czerneda's world and characters are richly layered and wonderful--full of mystery, hope and, most of all, heart. Come spend some time in Marrowdell. It's worth the journey. And be polite to the toads." -- Anne Bishop (for A Turn of Light)