A Nest of Vipers: A Bangalore Detectives Club Mystery

Available
4.9/5.0
21,000+ Reviews
Bookshop.org has the highest-rated customer service of any bookstore in the world
Product Details
Price
$27.95  $25.99
Publisher
Pegasus Crime
Publish Date
Pages
352
Dimensions
6.1 X 9.1 X 1.4 inches | 1.05 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781639366149

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate
About the Author
Harini Nagendra is a professor of sustainability at Azim Premji University, Bangalore, India. She has received the Elinor Ostrom Senior Scholar Award as well as the Cozzarelli Prize with Elinor Ostrom from the Proceedings of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences for research on sustainability. The Bangalore Detectives Club and Murder Under a Red Moon, the first two novels in the Bangalore Detective Club mystery series, are available from Pegasus Crime.
Reviews
Praise for Murder Under a Red Moon:

"I'm pleased to report that Murder Under a Red Moon exceeds all my expectations. Against a roiling political backdrop--the women's suffrage movement is growing, as is anti-British sentiment--Kaveri and Bhargavi come to a deeper understanding of each other."--Sarah Weinman, New York Times Book Review
"Should you be on the market for a new literary detective, you'd be hard pressed to find one more charming than Kaveri Murthy, the main character of Harini Nagendra's mystery series set in 1920s India. It's a pleasure to enter Kaveri's clever mind, and Nagendra wraps the story in a message of women's empowerment."-- "The Seattle Times"
Praise for The Bangalore Detectives Club:

"The first in an effervescent new mystery series by the ecology professor Harini Nagendra, The Bangalore Detectives Club turns the clock back a century. This is a treat for historical mystery lovers looking for a new series to savor (or devour)."--Sarah Weinman "The New York Times Book Review"
"Set in 1921 Bangalore, Nagendra's superb sequel to 2022's The Bangalore Detectives Club plunges amateur sleuth Kaveri Murthy into a case involving the family of her physician husband, Ramu. Assured pacing matches equally assured prose, and Nagendra brings the political tensions of India's colonial period to life without overwhelming the crafty whodunit plot. Fans of Abir Mukherjee's Wyndham and Banerjee novels will find much to like."-- "Publishers Weekly, starred review"
"Here's an amateur detective to cheer for: Kaveri Murthy, 19 and newly married, an Indian woman living in India in the early twentieth century under the restrictive rule of the British Raj. The real feat here is that Murthy's sleuthing is both excruciatingly exciting and entirely believable. Splendid." -- "Booklist, starred review"
"A fast paced and engaging story. Offering this one to fans of The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency is a no-brainer, but cozy mystery readers will also find much to love in the adventures of the indomitable detective."-- "Library Journal"
"Set in colonial India in 1921, this debut mystery, the first in a projected series, makes full use of the oppressive British rule of the time, matched by the oppressive treatment of women, to highlight the ingenuity and bravery of a young woman determined to solve a murder. Nagendra's evocation of setting is riveting, and her use of colonial history is thoroughly fascinating, with devastating depictions of the airy condescension of the British. A fine start to a promising series."-- "Booklist (starred)"
"A winning combination of historical mystery and detective work propelled by the-clock-is-ticking danger. A courageous heroine; intriguing social history embodied in clothes, housing, and food; Indian jadoo magic; and a propulsive plot all add up to a rewarding read."--Booklist (starred)
"Nagendra masterfully melds character, plot, and period detail in her transporting third historical mystery featuring amateur detective Kaveri Murthy. Nagendra is in peak form here, expertly mining the era's political frisson for top-shelf suspense. Fans of Abir Mukherjee's Wyndham and Banerjee series will devour this."--Publishers Weekly (starred)
"In this third volume of the Bangalore Detectives Club series, Das, the star magician at the Maximilian Circus, vanishes -- for real -- in the midst of his latest act. His teen son asks Kaveri Murthy to find him. As they search for Das, the intrepid Kaveri and her detectives become entangled in a web of political intrigue that threatens to turn deadly."--The Washington Post