A Natural History of Dragons: A Memoir by Lady Trent

Backorder
1 other format in stock!
4.9/5.0
21,000+ Reviews
Bookshop.org has the highest-rated customer service of any bookstore in the world
Product Details
Price
$45.99  $42.77
Publisher
MacMillan Audio
Publish Date
Dimensions
5.1 X 5.9 X 1.2 inches | 0.55 pounds
Language
English
Type
Compact Disc
EAN/UPC
9781427259189

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate
About the Author

MARIE BRENNAN habitually pillages her background in anthropology, archaeology, and folklore for fictional purposes. She is the author of the Onyx Court series (Midnight Never Come, In Ashes Lie, A Star Shall Fall, and With Fate Conspire) and the Doppelganger duology (Warrior and Witch), as well as more than thirty short stories.

Kate Reading is the recipient of multiple AudioFile Earphones Awards and has been named by AudioFile magazine as a "Voice of the Century," as well as the Best Voice in Science Fiction & Fantasy in 2008 and 2009 and Best Voice in Biography & Culture in 2010. Reading has performed at numerous theaters in Washington D.C. and received a Helen Hayes Award for her performance in Aunt Dan and Lemon.

Reviews

"Kate Reading's narration in this novel is superb.... The life she brings into the already outstanding Lady Trent is phenomenal."--The Sound of Fantasy

"Her Ladyship is a determined and canny woman in search of dragons--I wholeheartedly approve!" --Melanie Rawn, bestselling author of Touchstone, on A Natural History of Dragons

"Saturated with the joy and urgency of discovery and scientific curiosity." --Publishers Weekly (Starred Review)

"If you've ever secretly wished dragons were real, this story is for you. Fans of Naomi Novik and Mary Robinette Kowal will especially enjoy this book." --RT Book Reviews

"Told in the style of a Victorian memoir, courageous, intelligent and determined Isabella's account is colorful, vigorous and absorbing. A sort of Victorian why-what-whodunit embellished by Brennan's singular upgrade of a fantasy bromide and revitalizingly different viewpoint." --Kirkus Reviews

"Lady Trent is the Jane Goodall of dragonkind, and I'm glad she's finally sharing her story with the world." --Jim C. Hines, author of Libriomancer

"A Natural History of Dragons stands somewhere between Naomi Novik and Elizabeth Peters, but rock-solidly in its own world and on its own terms. Highly recommended." --Daniel Fox, author of Dragon in Chains