A Dark and Secret Place: A Thriller

Backorder (temporarily out of stock)

Product Details

Price
$25.99  $24.17
Publisher
Crooked Lane Books
Publish Date
Pages
304
Dimensions
6.0 X 9.3 X 1.2 inches | 1.05 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781643855745

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Jen Williams lives in London with her partner and their small ridiculous cat. Having been a fan of grisly fairy tales from a young age, these days Jen writes dark unsettling thrillers with strong female leads, as well as character-driven fantasy novels with plenty of adventure and magic. She has twice won the British Fantasy Award for her Winnowing Flame trilogy, and when she's not writing books she works as a bookseller and a freelance copywriter.

Reviews

Praise for A Dark and Secret Place
"It'll give you the shivers even on those hot summer nights!"
--Barnes & Noble Newport Beach

"Thoroughly addicitve...Fans of Alex North and CJ Tudor should get their hands on this one ASAP."
--Booklist, starred review

"A fairy tale for adults with strong stomachs."
--Kirkus Reviews

"Clever . . . A Dark and Secret Place is a chilling tale."
--New York Journal of Books

"Williams uses lyrical storytelling to create an ominous story full of chilling moments...[it will] make you want to leave the lights on at night."
--Mystery & Suspense Magazine

"Dark suspense, high tension, an elaborate mystery, and gorgeous writing."
--Suspense Magazine

"Twists and turns that keep the reader engaged, you'll be shocked right up until the very end."
--Red Carpet Crash

"Intriguing and fast-paced . . . Highly recommended for fans of horror mysteries."
--Gumshoe Review

"A Dark and Secret Place contains many secrets, shocks, and horrors. With its high body count and gory killings, readers will find it very intriguing and fast-paced . . . Highly recommended for fans of horror mysteries."
--SfRevu

"Grabs you by the throat and doesn't let go. Part-Midsommar, part-Hereditary, part-Mindhunter - and entirely terrifying."
--Abigail Dean, New York Times bestselling author of Girl A

"Reminiscent of Gillian Flynn's Sharp Objects."
--Sarah Pinborough, New York Times Bestselling author of Behind Her Eyes

"Dark as a Grimm fairy tale and brimming with secret...This novel will appeal to--and deeply chill--fans of true crime."
--Megan Collins, author of The Winter Sister and Behind the Red Door

"A hugely impressive crime debut."
--Jane Casey, Sunday Times bestselling author

"Creepy and compelling, [A Dark and Secret Place] is a truly disturbing take on a serial killer narrative. I read it heart in mouth!"
--Harriet Tyce, Sunday Times Bestselling author of Blood Orange

"For fans of Tana French and Thomas Harris, A Dark and Secret Place is a taut and stylish thriller...Riveting from the first page."
--E.G. Scott, internationally bestselling author of The Woman Inside

"Intense and with a seam of gallows humour, A Dark and Secret Place delivers complex characters and a fascinating journey into the past and future of a sequence of unforgettable crimes. Terrifying, fun, and insightful."
--Nathan Ripley, bestselling author of Find You in the Dark

"Masterfully plotted and heart-poundingly tense, Jen Williams combines British folklore, cults, and the most chilling serial killer to grace the page in years - creating a thriller that's both mesmerising, and utterly terrifying. I was hooked from the first page to the last."
--Katie Lowe, author of The Furies

"A tense, gripping and original read, with one of the creepiest serial killers I've encountered in a long time."
--Amy McCulloch, author of Breathless

"I couldn't stop reading [A Dark and Secret Place] once I started. I've just taken an extended lunch break to finish it and I can't quite put it into words yet except to say WOW."
--Jennifer Saint, author of Ariadne

"A dark and addictive read that will keep you enthralled until the last page."
--Laure Van Rensburg, author of Nobody But Us