What to read after American Dirt

By Portkey Books

By Portkey Books

It's wonderful that American Dirt has brought important issues to the attention of its readers. After thoughtful research, these are the books I would want to add to my reading list to accompany American Dirt. I have included the quotations and links to the reviews which influenced my selection.

 

Crystel

Portkey Books

Tell Me How It Ends: An Essay in 40 Questions

Valeria Luiselli

$12.95 $11.91

This one is on top of my reading list. "Tell Me How It Ends: An Essay in 40 Questions by Valeria Luiselli This book looks into the horrifying reality that many child migrants from Latin America are escaping from. It’s structured around the forty questions that the government asks of undocumented children facing deportation." https://www.theyoungfolks.com/books/140188/american-dirt-reaction-own-voices-stories-you-should-read-instead/

Unaccompanied

Javier Zamora

$16.00 $14.72

This is second on my list. A genuine account of a child immigrant told through poetry. "Unaccompanied is a book of poetry that takes as its subject author Javier Zamora’s own border crossing from El Salvador to the United States as a 9-year-old. Zamora writes the poems mostly as addresses to people who helped him on his journey: his grandparents and parents, a stranger who saved his life while trekking through a desert and El Salvador itself. Unaccompanied is a first-person view of immigration and border crossing from a child and an adult remembering that child." https://remezcla.com/lists/culture/american-dirt-controversy-books-about-border/

Lost Children Archive

Valeria Luiselli

$16.95 $15.59

Also written by Valeria Luiselli, author of Tell Me How It Ends, this novel blends the narratives an American family on a road trip with the issues of the children in the border crisis. "What it's about: A mother, father and two children set out on a road trip from New York to Arizona. The father is researching Apache culture and the mother is creating an audio documentary on children in the border crisis – a crisis they themselves get caught up in when their children go missing. The book was awarded an Andrew Carnegie Medal for excellence in fiction." https://www.usatoday.com/story/entertainment/books/2020/01/30/latin-american-books-read-instead-american-dirt/2858935001/

Sabrina & Corina: Stories

Kali Fajardo-Anstine

$26.00 $23.40

To experience the voices of complex Latin females, read Sabrina & Corina. "This collection of short stories about Latinas of Indigenous descent living in the American West was a National Book Award finalist. The narratives explore abandonment, heritage, and “an eternal sense of home,” following a family in a cycle of violence against women, a sex worker and her daughter as they leave their ancestral home, a woman leaving prison to find a gentrified city so far from the one in her childhood memory, and more. In Fajardo-Anstine’s debut collection, according to National Book Award judges, “the center of the world is brown and it is female.” https://www.yesmagazine.org/social-justice/2020/01/31/books-read-instead-american-dirt/