Victor LaValle and Mat Johnson recommendations

By Freebird Books

By Freebird Books

Flight to Canada

Ishmael Reed

$16.00 $14.72

Recommended by Mat; Ishmael Reed has created a sharp, wildly funny slave's-eye view of the Civil War.

Tell My Horse: Voodoo and Life in Haiti and Jamaica

Zora Neale Hurston

$15.99 $14.71

Recommended by Victor; Based on acclaimed author Zora Neale Hurston's personal experiences in Haiti and Jamaica--where she participated as an initiate rather than just an observer during her visits in the 1930s--Tell My Horse is a fascinating firsthand account of the mysteries of Voodoo.

Middle Passage

Charles Johnson

$17.00 $15.64

Recommended by Mat; Charles Johnson's National Book Award-winning masterpiece--"a novel in the tradition of Billy Budd and Moby-Dick...heroic in proportion...fiction that hooks the mind" (The New York Times Book Review)

Echo Tree: The Collected Short Fiction of Henry Dumas

Henry Dumas

$19.95 $18.35

Recommended by Victor; Gothic romance, ghost story, parable, psychological thriller, inner-space fiction--Henry Dumas's stories form a vivid, expansive portrait of Black life in America.

Erasure

Percival Everett

$16.00 $14.72

Recommended by Mat; "With equal measures of sympathy and satire, [Erasure] craftily addresses the highly charged issue of being 'black enough' in America." --Jenifer Berman, The New York Times Book Review

Different Seasons: Four Novellas

Stephen King

$18.00 $16.56

Recommended by Victor; Includes the stories "The Body" and "Rita Hayworth and Shawshank Redemption"--set in the fictional town of Castle Rock, Maine

Oreo

Fran Ross

$14.95 $13.75

Recommended by Mat; A playful, modernized parody of the classical odyssey of Theseus with a feminist twist, immersed in seventies pop culture, and mixing standard English, black vernacular, and Yiddish with wisecracking aplomb.

We Have Always Lived in the Castle: (Penguin Classics Deluxe Edition)

Shirley Jackson and Thomas Ott

$17.00 $15.64

Recommended by Victor; Shirley Jackson's beloved gothic tale of a peculiar girl named Merricat and her family's dark secret

The Interesting Narrative and Other Writings

Olaudah Equiano

$15.00 $13.80

Recommended by Mat; Olaudah Equiano's The Interesting Narrative recounts his kidnapping in Africa at the age of ten, his service as the slave of an officer in the British Navy, his ten years of labor on slave ships until he was able to purchase his freedom in 1766, and his life afterward as a leading and respected figure in the antislavery movement in England.

Incidents in the Life of a Slave Girl

Harriet Jacobs

$5.99

Recommended by Mat; The voice of a black female slave, written in her own hand, as she struggles for identity and freedom.

The Changeling

Victor Lavalle

$18.00 $16.56

Pym

Mat Johnson

$17.00 $15.64