By Auburn Oil Co. Booksellers

Hey y'all! This is Tyra from Auburn Oil Company Booksellers, your friendly neighborhood barista-bookseller-chalkboard artist-cafe DJ! If there's anything I love more than making great coffee, it's reading great books. This is a list of a few of the ones that have taught me, grown me, challenged me, and stuck with me. Best believe every single one is #homegirlapproved.

Anger Is a Gift

Mark Oshiro

$9.99 $9.19

This book gets FIVE STARS! It's on e of the best young adult books I've read. Tender, empathetic, and heartbreaking at points--Moss exemplifies the power and courage we all need to speak out and stand up after loss. This book will bring out your inner activist. Perfect for fans of The Hate U Give.

Sister Outsider: Essays and Speeches

Cheryl Clarke and Audre Lorde

$16.98 $15.62

The necessity of this book is summed beautifully in a quote from one of my favorite essays from Audre Lorde: "I have come to believe over and over again that what is most important to me must be spoken, made verbal and shared, even at the risk of having it bruised or misunderstood. That the speaking profits me, beyond any other effect." Please, do yourself a favor and pick it up.

The Body Keeps the Score: Brain, Mind, and Body in the Healing of Trauma

Bessel Van Der Kolk

$19.00 $17.48

This is more than a pop psychology book; it's a must-read for trauma survivors and those connected to them. Dr. van der Kolk explores how the abuses we experience impact both our physiology and psychology, along with tolls to help heal our minds from trauma through our bodies. His insights are backed by both empirical data and personal experience in trauma psychopathology. A truly masterful, healing work.

1984

George Orwell

$16.00 $14.72

The original Black Mirror, 1984 provocatively explores the relationship between language and lived experience. If reading about government stealth, societal untruths, and the mutability of human cognition, then this is your book.

Giovanni's Room

James Baldwin

$14.00 $12.88

This is one of my favorite books of all time. A beautiful, and at times frustratingly heartaching exploration of the costs of love: how does it impact connection, masculinity, expatriation, and identity? An important read for those in any kind of transition, plus it's James Baldwin.

Queenie

Candice Carty-Williams

$16.00 $14.72

This was a book that found me at the right time. It was like holding up a mirror, seeing a Black woman work through mounting mental health challenges while trying to keep her life together. Though it starts off slow, by the middle of the book you're rooting HARD for Queenie to push through while lol-ing at her friends the whole way through. Great for fans of TV shows like The Bold Type.

The Tradition

Jericho Brown

$17.00 $15.64

A book of poetry that felt warm and familiar. Brown's life is in these pages; his words dance across the page and compel us to pay attention. 10 out of 10 recommend.

Love in the Time of Cholera

Gabriel Garcia Marquez

$16.95 $15.59

Clean Getaway

Nic Stone

$16.98 $15.62

Sassafrass, Cypress & Indigo

Ntozake Shange

$19.98 $18.38