By The Bookstore at the End of the World

The Night Watchman

Louise Erdrich

$28.99 $26.09

In 1953, Thomas Wazhashk is the night watchman at a jewel bearing plant as well as a tribal councilman for the Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa in North Dakota. He is skeptical of a new “emancipation” bill Congress has created and is organizing resistance. Meanwhile, Patrice Paranteau is searching for her missing sisterin the big city. Although that might sound sad, Erdrich fills this story with humor and heart, as well as full-bodied, loveable characters that make it a joy to read.

One Hundred Years of Solitude

Gabriel Garcia Marquez

$16.99 $15.63

This is the most powerful, moving novel I’ve ever read. Set in a fictional Colombian town, this post-colonial epic tells the multi-generational story of the Buendia family in a world full of larger-than-life characters and fantastical imagery. Every chapter left me breathless.

Heartburn

Nora Ephron

$15.00 $13.80

Rachel is a seven-months-pregnant cookbook writer who discovers her husband is cheating on her. While a tale of a broken marriage might not sound new, this one’s packed with Ephron’s trademark wit and awe-inspiring prose (I wish I could write like her). Plus there are recipes so this book will not only make you laugh but also make you hungry.

Less

Andrew Sean Greer

$15.99 $14.71

Struggling novelist Arthur Less is turning fifty and he’s just been invited to his ex-boyfriend’s wedding. Rather than deal with all that, he embarks on a yearlong, globetrotting journey during which just about everything goes wrong. This Pulitzer Prize–winning book made me giggle and it made me think.

Pasta Grannies: The Official Cookbook: The Secrets of Italy's Best Home Cooks

Vicky Bennison

$29.99 $26.99

What was once just a YouTube channel is now a triple-threat cookbook. You’ll learn how to make pasta from scratch and learn about the wonderful women behind these recipes and the beautiful regions of Italy from which they come. Perfect for fans of Italy, pasta, or grandmas.

Hero

Perry Moore

$9.99 $9.19

The classic teenage coming-out story gets a super-hero twist in this young adult novel that’s packed with action, humor, and love. I should warn you it also made me cry—but those were happy tears! It’s an amazing book and is one of the reasons I work in this industry. I wish Mr. Moore were still around to write a sequel.

Sworn to Silence: The First Kate Burkholder Novel

Linda Castillo

$9.99 $9.19

I’ve worked with Amish mysteries before, but those were cute cozies. This excellent first in the series is a gritty police procedural that might scare you. I definitely enjoyed all the surprises. Sixteen years ago, Kate Burkholder was just an innocent Amish girl until the Slaughterhouse Killer turned her peaceful community upside down. Since then, she’s left the Amish community and returned to town as the chief of police. She was ready to move on with her life…then they found the first body.

Still Life: A Chief Inspector Gamache Novel

Louise Penny

$17.99 $16.55

This is the first Chief Inspector Gamache novel. Set in a small Quebec village, it’s part cozy, part police procedural. A local artist has fallen victim to a hunting accident while walking in the woods, but upon closer inspection by Gamache and his team, it’s clear that this hamlet is not as quaint as they first thought.

Meddling Kids

Edgar Cantero

$16.95 $15.59

This satire/horror/mystery is a fun, scary rollercoaster. Imagine if the gang from Scooby-Doo lived in the real world and solved their last case in 1977. Then they grew up and developed real-life problems, and in 1990 they learn that the monster they were chasing was not the man in the mask they helped arrest. The monster is real…and still out there.

The Best of Richard Matheson

Richard Matheson

$17.00 $15.64

This collection of horror, fantasy, and science fiction stories will show you why Stephen King, Neil Gaiman, Ray Bradbury, and Stephen Spielberg sang Matheson’s praises. He scares me in just a few pages with tales about a little boy who wants to be a vampire, a picture-perfect family with a secret in their basement, a tail-gating truck driver from hell, a married couple with a powerful little button that will change their lives forever, and a naïve young woman who has purchased an eccentric little doll.