Salem Lit Fest 2022

By Wicked Good Books

By Wicked Good Books
The Wise Women

The Wise Women

Gina Sorell

$26.99 $25.10

The Wise Women, is a New York Times Editor's Pick, People Magazine Best New Books selection, Washington Post Summer Books selection, Good Morning America Buzz Pick, and a Today Show Jenna Reads Most Anticipated of 2022.

Unlikely Animals

Unlikely Animals

Annie Hartnett

$28.00 $26.04

“A quirky, poignant novel about family, community and love for our animal friends.” — The Washington Post

The Ten Thousand Doors of January

The Ten Thousand Doors of January

Alix E. Harrow

$16.99 $15.80

The Ten Thousand Doors Of January was a Los Angeles Times best seller. Kirkus Reviews called The Ten Thousand Doors Of January "a love letter to imagination, adventure, the written word, and the power of many kinds of love."

Survivor Song

Survivor Song

Paul Tremblay

$16.99 $15.80

"Survivor Song is a small horror story. A personal one. A fast and terrible one that is committed beautifully to the page. . . . " — NPR "Inventive… an emotional punch… There is plenty here traditional zombie fans will recognize and enjoy.” — Boston Globe "Absolutely riveting. I haven’t been able to put it down." — Stephen King

The School for Good Mothers

The School for Good Mothers

Jessamine Chan

$27.00 $25.11

A New York Times bestseller and Today show Read with Jenna Book Club Pick. Selected as One of Barack Obama’s Summer 2022 Reading List Picks.

Saint X

Saint X

Alexis Schaitkin

$16.99 $15.80

A New York Times Notable Book of 2020 "'Saint X' is hypnotic. Schaitkin's characters...are so intelligent and distinctive it feels not just easy, but necessary, to follow them. I devoured [it] in a day." –Oyinkan Braithwaite, New York Times Book Review

Rabbit Cake

Rabbit Cake

Annie Hartnett

$16.95 $15.76

People Magazine Book of the Week A Best Book of the Year at Kirkus Reviews, Book Riot, The Chicago Review of Books, Minnesota Public Radio, and more An Indies Introduce and Indie Next Pick

The Push

The Push

Ashley Audrain

$26.00 $24.18

Audrey Audrian is a session moderator for this year's Lit Fest. The Push is a Good Morning America Book Club Pick and a New York Times bestseller.

Our Little World

Our Little World

Karen Winn

$26.00 $24.18

“Winn’s debut brilliantly depicts the familiar tale of a shaken East Coast community through a coming-of-age lens.... A story of sisterhood and the haunting nature of loss for readers of Celeste Ng and Kristen Bird.” —Booklist "Eerie and evocative." —CrimeReads

The Once and Future Witches

The Once and Future Witches

Alix E. Harrow

$17.99 $16.73

A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • Winner of the British Fantasy Award for Best Fantasy Novel • Named One of the Best Books of the Year by NPR Books and BookPage

Mercy House

Mercy House

Alena Dillon

$16.99 $15.80

"...Dillon's debut novel is heartwarming to its core. With a widely diverse cast of supporting characters, author Dillon brings Bed-Stuy to life. Realistic in scope and pious without being preachy, Mercy House will appeal to fans of Naomi Ragen's The Devil in Jerusalem (2015) and Autumn J. Bright's Lovely (2017)." — Booklist "For fans of Ann Patchett’s The Patron Saint of Liars or Maile Meloy’s Liars and Saints, Mercy House is a must-read." — San Francisco Book Review

Magic, Lies, and Deadly Pies

Magic, Lies, and Deadly Pies

Misha Popp

$26.99 $25.10

Darkly humorous . . . Cozy readers looking for something different will find much to like.” —Publishers Weekly “An exciting debut that has you rooting for a morally conflicted witch while salivating over her pies.” —Kirkus

Joan Is Okay

Joan Is Okay

Weike Wang

$27.00 $25.11

“Joan . . . is solitary, literal-minded and extremely awkward—all of which contribute to the hilarity of this novel.”—New York Times “A wry, wise, and simply spectacular book.”—People (“Book of the Week”)

Iron Widow

Iron Widow

Xiran Jay Zhao

$17.99 $16.73

A 2021 Goodreads Choice Awards Nominee, Best Young Adult & Science Fiction Nominated for the Science Fiction Writers of America's Andre Norton Nebula Award for Middle Grade and Young Adult Fiction "The action-packed plot, involving battles both physical and mental, is original and incorporates queer themes and Zetian’s unwavering, cathartic feminism." —Kirkus Reviews

Into the Jungle

Into the Jungle

Erica Ferencik

$16.99 $15.80

Featured in the New York Times Book Review Summer Reading Guide * A Crime by the Book “Most Anticipated” Novel * Featured in the New York Post Summer Round Up * Starred Publishers Weekly Review * A Publishers Weekly “Big Summer Books” * A Kirkus Reviews “Creepy Thrillers” Pick

A Head Full of Ghosts

A Head Full of Ghosts

Paul Tremblay

$16.99 $15.80

“Paul Tremblay’s terrific A Head Full of Ghosts generates a haze of an altogether more serious kind: the pleasurable fog of calculated, perfectly balanced ambiguity.” — New York Times Book Review “A Head Full of Ghosts scared the living hell out of me, and I’m pretty hard to scare.” — Stephen King

The Grace of Kings

The Grace of Kings

Ken Liu

$18.99 $17.66

"A refreshing epic." ― --The New York Times "Ken Liu's The Grace of Kings — a magnificent fantasy epic. Liu is building a dynasty." -- Amal El-Mohtar ― NPR Books

Girl in Ice

Girl in Ice

Erica Ferencik

$27.99 $26.03

Erica Ferencik is a session moderator for this year's Lit Fest. "Hauntingly beautiful... Girl In Ice uses the subtleties of translation to draw us into different worlds and ways of thinking." —Sarah Lyall, New York Times Book Review "Known for immersing herself in challenging environments, Ferencik infuses every page with her research in the fjords of Greenland (where the Inuktun word for climate change translates to 'a friend acting strangely'). That plus a writer’s eye for the telling detail have produced some of the most original thriller writing about Arctic environments since Peter Høeg’s 1993 novel Smilla’s Sense of Snow. As science-driven thriller and probing exploration of fear, language and family bonds, Girl in Ice will not be easily forgotten." —Los Angeles Times, "7 Best Crime Novels of Winter 2022" “An excellent, thrilling mystery . . . With its fascinating science and compelling characters (one or more of whom may be a murderer), Girl in Ice demands to be read in one sitting.” —BookPage (starred review)

Feral Creatures

Feral Creatures

Kira Jane Buxton

$16.99 $15.80

"Buxton balances the snarky humor and moving tenderness of her delightful protagonist with genuine tension. Fans of postapocalyptic dangers and witty narration will eat up this charming story."―Publishers Weekly "Buxton continues her genre-melding tale with sizzling wit and a deep knowledge of pop culture."―Seattle Times

Bacchanal

Bacchanal

Veronica G. Henry

$14.95 $13.90

"Henry skillfully layers historical realism with fantastic elements to explore the way times of desperation test the ethics of oppressed communities. Henry is a writer to watch.” —Publishers Weekly “Set in the Depression-era South and featuring a mysterious traveling carnival, it’s a novel of Black history and magic that makes for a terrific read.” —The Washington Post

Eleutheria

Eleutheria

Allegra Hyde

$17.00 $15.81

“Partly satirical, the book is also an urgent, absorbing story that asks how we are meant to live.” —The New Yorker “The narrative toggles back and forth between the tropical island and Willa’s relationship with a Harvard professor. It’s a weird, melancholic adventure novel — not a genre specimen you come across every day.” —The New York Times

Elektra

Elektra

Jennifer Saint

$27.99 $26.03

“A powerful glimpse of ancient Greece…If you were ever confused after learning about these characters and their stories in school, you won’t be once Elektra speeds up and dives into the action.” ―Washington Post “A vivid reimagining of Greek mythology’s most haunted lineage.” ―Harper’s Bazaar

Deliberate Evil: Nathaniel Hawthorne, Daniel Webster, and the 1830 Murder of a Salem Slave Trader

Deliberate Evil: Nathaniel Hawthorne, Daniel Webster, and the 1830 Murder of a Salem Slave Trader

Edward J. Renehan

$28.99 $26.96

"A passionate introduction to early Salem and the high-profile crimes that took place there, Deliberate Evil is a true crime text that takes a close look at power and class struggles. It’s told with real relish for the location and the stories of those who conspired to benefit from a murder." — Foreword Reviews “…well-crafted, imbuing the gothic affairs of nearly 200 years ago with suspense and vividly portraying a large cast of characters." — Wall Street Journal

Darling Girl: A Novel of Peter Pan

Darling Girl: A Novel of Peter Pan

Liz Michalski

$26.00 $24.18

“Michalski’s writing moves light as a specter between moments of pain and action, keeping readers breathless in an enchanted race to find out who will receive the true gift: ordinary mortal existence.” —Washington Post "Michalski’s well-constructed second novel extends the world of Peter Pan into a fascinating contemporary drama which dives deeply into themes of aging, generational trauma, and the things parents are willing to do for—or to—their children...This dark, magical tale is sure to win fans" —Publishers Weekly

Chemistry

Chemistry

Weike Wang

$16.00 $14.88

“A comic and often precarious journey. . . . Told in a hilarious deadpan that recalls Gish Jen and Nora Ephron.” —O, The Oprah Magazine “Winningly original. . . . Pithy, casually brilliant. . . . So fresh and intimate and mordantly funny that she feels less like fiction than a friend you’ve known forever.” —Entertainment Weekly