Pete's Picks-- from our Buyer, Pete Mock

By McIntyre's Books

By McIntyre's Books

The Winter Soldier

Daniel Mason

$16.99 $15.63

Excellent historical fiction set on the Russian Front in WWI.

November Road: A Thriller

Lou Berney

$16.99 $15.63

City of Margins

William Boyle

$25.95 $23.36

William Boyle is today's master at putting a reader in a particular place and time. Dark noir set in Brooklyn and oh, so, so, good.

Caught in Time

Julie McElwain

$16.95 $15.59

You Never Forget Your First: A Biography of George Washington

Alexis Coe

$27.00 $24.30

Oh, the memories... of my high school history classes. A new and very different take on our 1st president.

Scrublands

Chris Hammer

$18.00 $16.56

American Oligarchs: The Kushners, the Trumps, and the Marriage of Money and Power

Andrea Bernstein

$30.00 $27.00

Heavy sigh, a story of a family alliance that is one is of the best Trump books I have read.

The Last Thing You Surrender: A Novel of World War II

Leonard Pitts Jr

$17.00 $15.64

Pulitzer prize winning columnist, Leonard Pitts, writes another eye opening, powerful novel about America. This time the setting is Mobile Alabama, the time: WWII. Use your imagination from there.

Classic Krakauer: Essays on Wilderness and Risk

Jon Krakauer

$15.00 $13.80

A little something for all you adrenaline junkies stuck at home.

The Do-Right

Lisa Sandlin

$16.95 $15.59

A great period PI piece set in Texas. It's 1974, Watergate is playing in the background, and a Delpha Wade is released from prison after serving 14 years for killing the man who was raping her. Wary, she slowly eases her way back into society. Won both a Hammett and Shamus award. Not bad.

The Bird Boys

Lisa Sandlin

$16.95 $15.59

The second in the Delpha Wade series and just as good as the first!

Black Water Rising

Attica Locke

$14.99 $13.79

The Half-Drowned King

Linnea Hartsuyker

$15.99 $14.71

Need a change of pace from the over abundance WWII historical fiction? Well, here you are; the first in a trilogy set in 9th century Norway and featuring a brother and sister turned rivals over the soul of a nascent nation. Swash buckling good fun! For fans of Hilary Mantel and Dorothy Dunnett.

The Sea Queen

Linnea Hartsuyker

$16.99 $15.63

The second in the Nordic series. More political intrigue, sea battles, and history, history, history. Fascinating!

Blackwood

Michael Farris Smith

$27.00 $24.30

It's Mississippi, it's hot, the small town of Red Bluff is slowly dying as youth leave and the old die off. Kudzu runs wild in the valley and strange voices seem to be whispering on the wind. A very evocative and creepy story that reminds me of Larry Brown with a dash of Stephen King thrown in.

Valentine

Elizabeth Wetmore

$26.99 $24.29

Wow, what a debut! 1976 Odessa, Texas. Everybody's waiting on another oil boom and there's not much to do except drink, sneak out of the house if you're young, or toil away trying your best to take care of the family. Told through the voices of women only (all the men, with a couple of exceptions, are misogynistic cavemen, sort of like most of our politicians) and the story slowly evolves as each story slowly coalesces into a unique whole that leaves a serious impression upon the brain. Bravura!

The Unlikely Escape of Uriah Heep

H. G. Parry

$16.99 $15.63

What a massively enjoyable book! The closest thing I've ever come across to something Harry Potter like for adults. It's also a master class in Victorian literature, especially Dickens. I took a class like this in college and was bored to tears but this just pulled me in and wouldn't let go. So much fun, great characters, caring and compassionate, and peppered with dialogue both witty and educational at the same time. This is a novel that left me smiling and wanting to share as soon as I turned the last page.