Nancy's Mostly Mystery Picks

By Fiction Addiction

By Fiction Addiction

Collecting the Dead

Spencer Kope

$9.99

Highly recommended for fans of Criminal Minds this is a brilliant debut thriller with a troubled but very likeable main character and terrific supporting cast.

The Holdout

Graham Moore

$28.00 $25.76

Wow! What a terrific legal drama. Rather than typical courtroom scenes, The Holdout centers on the jury and how one holdout influenced all of them and how their lives changed because of being jurors on a sensational murder trial.

The Good Detective

John McMahon

$17.00 $15.64

Racial strife, dirty cops and evil perpetrated by a mysterious secret order for over 150 years all go together to make this one of the best stories with a southern setting that I have read since I read the last Greg Isles.

Big Lies in a Small Town

Diane Chamberlain

$27.99 $25.75

If you love great southern fiction, if you love a mystery, if you love rich characters, and if you love history and art you will not want to miss this fabulous novel.

This Tender Land

William Kent Krueger

$28.00 $25.76

Regardless of what genre you normally read, do yourself a favor and read this book. It is one of the most beautifully written books I have ever read. For a book full of hardship and cruelty to also be so beautiful and full of hope and love is the indication of a truly gifted writer.

City of Windows

Robert Pobi

$26.99 $24.83

Who is Dr. Lucas Page? He is a new reluctant hero for fans of Michael Bennett, Lincoln Rhymes, and Amos Decker.

Caged

Ellison Cooper

$7.99

The science and forensics are amazing; the motive of the killer is totally unexpected as is his method of achieving his goal. The action is non-stop and the well-developed characters leave you wanting to continue to be a part of their lives.

Sometimes I Lie

Alice Feeney

$16.99 $15.63

Sometime I lie reminded me of how I felt after reading Gone Girl more than any of the other books that have been compared to it. Even if you manage to figure out some of the twists and some of the lies be prepared to really be surprised by the ending.

Crimson Lake

Candice Fox

$9.99 $9.19

Crimson Lake is crime fiction at its best. It is about three intriguing crimes, past and present. It is about characters that are quirky, colorful, likable, but also very damaged. And it is about a small town in Australia that is itself disturbing and dangerous. It is a crock infested town, with small town cops who donโ€™t believe in rules, and small town citizens who donโ€™t forgive or forget. I understand this is going to become a series and I canโ€™t wait for the next installment.

Splinter in the Blood

Ashley Dyer

$15.99

Splinter in the Blood is a combination of all I love in the mystery/thriller genre. It is a true whodunit with red herrings galore, a classic police procedural with the normal in fighting and competition for credit, and lots of psychological elements all melded into a terrific read.

The Evil Men Do

John McMahon

$27.00 $24.84

Once again, McMahon has woven a riveting, true detective story, one that is fast-paced and edge of your seat good! P.T. Marsh has a knack for finding connections where no one else can and before you know it several violent crimes are all interwoven and once again Marsh is operating under the radar without department approval.

You Are Not Alone

Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen

$27.99 $25.75

I am speechless. I cannot believe that Greer and Sarah have written a thriller better than their first two combined.

Valentine

Elizabeth Wetmore

$26.99 $24.83

Valentine is a powerful debut novel that takes place in the oil fields around Odessa, TX in the 70s at the beginning of the oil boom. It is about racism, violence, good ole boys who stick together and most of all about the misogyny that existed and was accepted at the time.

The Woman in the Mirror

Rebecca James

$26.99 $24.83

A haunted manor, star crossed lovers, a good guy to save the day โ€“ what more could you ask for in a wonderfully creepy gothic thriller set in the 1940s and in modern day? How about a really great surprise ending?