Nancy's 20 top reads of 2020

By Fiction Addiction

By Fiction Addiction

We Are All the Same in the Dark

Julia Heaberlin

$27.00 $24.84

Three points of view, three really different and very flawed characters, a small town with horrible secrets all contributed to one of the best books I have read this year. It is a gut wrenching crime thriller that will shock you more than once as you race through to see how it ends.

The Girls Are All So Nice Here

Laurie Elizabeth Flynn

$27.00 $24.84

The Girls Are All So Nice Here – is the first, but not the last, lie you will read when you devour this dark and disturbing novel about college girls and how they treat other girls in order to be popular or important. The ending is both satisfying and as deliciously evil as the rest of the book.

Don't Look for Me

Wendy Walker

$27.99 $25.75

A terrible tragedy befalls the Clarke family, leaving it broken and fragile. And when Molly, the only one trying to hold it all together, goes missing, they all think she doesn’t want to be found. This gripping and suspenseful novel is an emotionally powerful novel that will leave you breathless and shaken… all the way to its very surprising ending!

The War Widow

Tara Moss

$26.00 $23.92

The War Widow was an intriguing mystery, an interesting and informative look at post war Australia in 1946 and an overall totally delightful read. For fans of Miss Fisher's Mysteries on BritBox/Acorn

The Photographer

Mary Dixie Carter

$27.99 $25.75

This extremely addictive and suspenseful look at extreme obsession, desire and obviously some deep-seated psychological trauma will have you asking yourself what is real until the very last page. Plus, you will learn a lot about photography.

The Night Swim

Megan Goldin

$27.99 $25.75

While Megan Goldin’s new novel The Night Swim is quite different from her first book The Escape Room, I think I liked this one even better. If you need a little break from ‘psychological’ thrillers but still want a great mystery Night Swim was a great crime drama.

A Solitude of Wolverines: A Novel of Suspense

Alice Henderson

$27.99 $25.75

For fans of Nevada Barr. A Solitude of Wolverines is a heart stopping action packed wilderness survival story, an education about the lives of endangered wolverines, and an introduction to the unforgettable, tough as nails heroine, wildlife biologist Dr. Alex Carter.

Home Before Dark

Riley Sager

$27.00 $24.84

The brilliant plotting was instrumental in making this one of the creepiest and most believable ghost stories I have ever read and the ending was beyond amazing. If reading this doesn’t put you in another place and time to escape what is going on in the real world then nothing ever will.

Every Last Fear

Alex Finlay

$26.99 $24.83

Thank you, Alex Finlay. Your jaw-dropping debut novel, Every Last Fear, has restored my love for thrillers. With the opening line “They found the bodies on a Tuesday” you grabbed my attention and held it captive until the very last word.

The Survivors

Jane Harper

$27.99 $25.75

Jane Harper has once again created a beautifully written character driven novel and mystery. And, once again the location is one of the main characters. This time we are on the Island of Tasmania and the small tourist town of Evelyn Bay.

His & Hers

Alice Feeney

$16.99 $15.63

A story of love and betrayal and revenge is told from two viewpoints his and hers. While the story is told from two viewpoints we also have a third person the narrator, who is obviously the killer. Every time the narrator starts talking about why someone had to die I am convinced I know who the killer is, until the next time when I'm sure it's someone else. I really was not surprised at the ending until I found out it wasn't really the end.

Dear Child

Romy Hausmann

$26.99 $24.83

The story starts with a bang and doesn’t let up for the entire novel. The tension is so taut that you keep thinking everything is going to snap and you will find some answers. But, instead as bits and pieces are revealed the story becomes more and more twisted and you just have to wait until the very end for everything to finally make sense.

Mirrorland

Carole Johnstone

$27.00 $24.84

Mirrorland is a modern day gothic where every page brings a new surprise. A surprise which will have you wondering what is real and what isn’t in this unusual, scary and surprisingly atmospheric novel which touches on horrible abuse, a mother’s desperate efforts to save her children, love, betrayal and above all else the bonds between sisters – especially twins.

Long Bright River

Liz Moore

$17.00 $15.64

Literary crime fiction at its best. Gritty and atomospheric with a charecter you won't forget.

Band of Sisters

Lauren Willig

$27.99 $25.75

Based on a true story and real characters. The story of a group of Smith college women who form a relief unit in France during WWl. I laughed out loud on one page and cried on the next. It is an amazing story of women who are as much heroes as the men who went to war, a beautiful tale of friendship, and an intriguing look at wartime that I had never seen before.

The Good Luck Stone

Heather Bell Adams

$17.95 $16.51

The Good Luck Stone is a totally captivating story which goes back and forth between the Philippines during World War II and present day Savannah, Georgia. Enough suspense to keep you reading way past your bedtime.

Nothing More Dangerous

Allen Eskens

$16.99 $15.63

A coming of age story that is a perfect read for the current times. For Fans of This Tender Land.

Raft of Stars

Andrew J Graff

$26.99 $24.83

A coming of age adventure story perfect for fans of This Tender Land.

The Last Blue

Isla Morley

$25.95 $23.87

From 1937 - 1972 a story of the blue people of KY. There is a murder, attempted murder and one of the best love stories I have read. For fans of Book Women of Troublesome Creek.

Waiting for the Night Song

Julie Carrick Dalton

$26.99 $24.83

If you like Where The Crawdads Sing you will love, love, this.