Magical Middle Grade Fantasy by Black Authors

By Kamilla Benko

By Kamilla Benko

The Jumbies

Tracey Baptiste

$7.95 $7.31

If you like LAND OF STORIES by Chris Colfer, you'll love this series about Corinne La Mer who must use her extraordinary bravery--and a bit of magic--to save her island home from jumbies.

Rise of the Jumbies

Tracey Baptiste

$7.95 $7.31

The Jumbie God's Revenge

Tracey Baptiste

$16.95 $15.59

Bayou Magic

Jewell Parker Rhodes

$7.99 $7.35

If you enjoy books like TUMBLE & BLUE by Cassie Beasley (author of CIRCUS MIRANDUS) and a hint of mermaids, you'll this book!

Dragons in a Bag

Zetta Elliott and Geneva B.

$6.99 $6.43

A fan of JERMEY THATCHER, DRAGON HATCHER by Bruce Coville? Take a look at this story!

Tristan Strong Punches a Hole in the Sky

Kwame Mbalia

$17.99 $16.55

Fans of Percy Jackson will love this series--and Rick Riordan agrees!

Tristan Strong Destroys the World

Kwame Mbalia

$17.99 $16.55

The second book in the beloved Tristan Strong series!

Miles Morales: Spider-Man

Jason Reynolds and Kadir Nelson

$17.99 $16.55

Love action packed books like ALEX RIDER by Anthony Horowitz? Try this story! (And if you're a Marvel fan and haven't read this book yet--what are you waiting for?!)

Shuri: A Black Panther Novel (Marvel), 1

Nic Stone

$17.99 $16.55

Like your princesses smart like Cimorene in DEALING WITH DRAGONS? Then meet the brilliant Shuri. (And, obviously, if you're a fan of Marvel, read this ASAP!)

Zahrah the Windseeker

Nnedi Okorafor-Mbachu

$8.99 $8.27

If you enjoy quests like THE HOBBIT and want a book to replace THE JUNGLE BOOK on your shelf, then this is the book for you! (And if you're intrigued by the trailer for 2021 the JUNGLE CRUISE movie, definitely take a look at this book!)

Maya and the Rising Dark

Rena Barron

$16.99 $15.63

Another book fantastic for fans of PERCY JACKSON by Rick Riordan and KEEPER OF THE LOST CITIES by Shannon Messenger.

Gloom Town

Ronald L. Smith

$16.99 $15.63

If you enjoyed Lemony Snicket's SERIES OF UNFORTUNATE EVENTS, you'll enjoy this book with a fantastical twist.

The Magic in Changing Your Stars

Leah Henderson

$16.95 $15.59

When you were younger, did you love books that took you back in time like MAGIC TREE HOUSE, RANGER IN TIME, and I SURVIVED? Then try this tale!

Hurricane Child

Kacen Callender

$7.99 $7.35

Magical realism at its finest, pick up this book if you loved ORPHAN ISLAND by Laurel Snyder!

Hide and Seeker

Daka Hermon

$17.99 $16.55

If you love GOOSEBUMPS and STRANGER THINGS or THE DARKDEEP by Ally Condie and Brendan Reichs, this is the next read for you!

Ikenga

Nnedi Okorafor

$16.99 $15.63

Publishes August 18, 2020 - If you like books where a magical object bestows great power like THE MONSTER'S RING by Bruce Coville or an action story packed with magic, like ARTEMIS FOWEL by Eoin Colfer, be sure to check out this book!

The Last Mirror on the Left

Lamar Giles and Derick Brooks

$16.99 $15.63

The Last Last-Day-Of-Summer

Lamar Giles and Derick Brooks

$16.99 $15.63

Looking for a modern PHANTOM TOLLBOOTH? Look no further than this tale and its sequel, THE LAST MIRROR ON THE LEFT.

Twintuition: Double Vision

Tia Mowry and Tamera Mowry

$6.99 $6.43

Fans of WHATEVER AFTER by Sarah Mylowski will fall in love with this series.

Twintuition: Double Dare

Tia Mowry and Tamera Mowry

$6.99 $6.43

The Phoenix on Barkley Street

Zetta Elliott

$7.00

This is a perfect read for anyone who loved THE BOGGART by Susan Cooper or THE PHOENIX AND THE CARPET by E. Nesbit.

The Ghosts in the Castle

Zetta Elliott and Charity Russell

$7.00

If you read any of the THE ROYAL DIARIES books or TANGLED IN TIME by Katherine Lasky, be sure to read this book!

The Dragon Thief

Zetta Elliott and Geneva B.

$16.99 $15.63

The sequel to DRAGONS IN A BAG

Black Panther the Young Prince

Ronald L. Smith and Ronald Smith

$7.99 $7.35

Excellent for anyone who loves Marvel and Rick Riordan's TRIALS OF APOLLO series!

The Owls Have Come to Take Us Away

Ronald L. Smith

$7.99 $7.35

If you're in the mood for something delightfully ominous like WAIT TILL HELEN COMES by Mary Downing Hahn, this is the book for you!

Hoodoo

Ronald L. Smith

$7.99 $7.35

This is a great read for anyone who loved SAVVY by Ingrid Law and enjoys a dash of spine tingles.

The Mesmerist

Ronald L. Smith

$7.99

If you loved Neil Patrick Harris's MAGIC MISFITS series, then this book is the perfect fit for you.

The Phantom Unicorn

Zetta Elliott and Charity Russell

$7.00

For anyone who liked THE UNICORN QUEST; THE CASTLE IN THE ATTIC; and MAGIC TREE HOUSE, read this book!

Dayshaun's Gift

Zetta Elliott and Alex Portal

$7.00

If you read DEAR AMERICA or remember GEORGE WASHINGTON'S SOCKS and the rest of the Time Travel Adventures by Elvira Woodruff, take a look at this tale!

Jupiter Storm

Marti Dumas and Stephanie Parcus

$24.99 $22.99

A huge fan of HOW TO TRAIN YOUR DRAGON? Then pick up the Seeds of Magic series starring Jupiter Storm!

The Dragon Keep

Marti Dumas and Stephanie Parcus

$14.99 $13.79

The sequel to Jupiter Storm

The Hero of Numbani (an Overwatch Original Novel), 1

Nicky Drayden

$9.99 $9.19

If you enjoy stories about robots, check The Hero of Numbani out!

Amari and the Night Brothers

B. B. Alston

$17.98 $16.54

Debut! January 2021 -- For fans of ARTEMIS FOWL and MEN IN BLACK!

Root Magic

Eden Royce

$16.99 $15.63

Debut! January 2021 -- A fan of Southern Gothic stories like SERAFINA AND THE BLACK CLOAK? This is the book for you!