Jill's Exhaustive List of Picks

By Fiction Addiction

By Fiction Addiction

Animals Reviewed: Starred Ratings of Our Feathered, Finned, and Furry Friends

Association of Zoos and Aquariums

$9.95 $9.15

A hilarious sendup of online reviews.

Red Queen

Victoria Aveyard

$12.99 $11.95

Imagine the violence of The Hunger Games, the backstabbing and betrayal of The Game of Thrones, more superpowers than The X-Men. Debut YA novel.

Loonshots: How to Nurture the Crazy Ideas That Win Wars, Cure Diseases, and Transform Industries

Safi Bahcall

$29.99 $27.59

Malcolm Gladwell meets Bill Nye in this fabulous business book that will also appeal to Steven Johnson history fans.

The Indigo Girl

Natasha Boyd

$16.99 $15.63

South Carolinians and fans of historical fiction will enjoy this peek into Colonial life. The novel also works as a YA crossover and should be of interest to SC history teachers.

Things You Save in a Fire

Katherine Center

$26.99 $24.83

Reading Katherine Center is your pleasurable antidote for the daily news cycle.

What I Lick Before Your Face: And Other Haikus by Dogs

Jamie Coleman

$14.99 $13.79

A great companion to I Could Pee on This for those on the other side of the aisle -- dog lovers!

The Middle Place

Kelly Corrigan

$16.00

A great selection for your reading group or for any 30-something woman who has ever found that even 'after all the paperwork — a marriage license, a notarized deed, two birth certificates, and seven years of tax returns — clearly indicates that you’re an adult, but all the same, there you are, clutching the phone and thanking God that you’re still somebody’s daughter.'

Undoctored: Why Health Care Has Failed You and How You Can Become Smarter Than Your Doctor

William Davis

$27.99 $25.75

I've followed this book for the last 2 years and I've fixed my sleep, increased my energy, and lost inches around my waist!

The Signature of All Things

Elizabeth Gilbert

$17.00 $15.64

Every book club and garden club in America should put The Signature of All Things by Elizabeth Gilbert at the top of their to-read list.

Talking to Strangers: What We Should Know about the People We Don't Know

Malcolm Gladwell

$30.00 $27.60

My hope is that everyone I know will read and discuss this book.

The Seven or Eight Deaths of Stella Fortuna

Juliet Grames

$17.99 $16.55

This compulsively readable, epic yet intimate story of an Italian-American family has at its core the heartbreaking story of a strong woman before her time.

Give and Take: Why Helping Others Drives Our Success

Adam Grant

$18.00 $16.56

Adam Grant takes the conventional wisdom and turns it on its head to prove that people with honesty and integrity who believe in a 'pay it forward' system are some of the most successful Americans and that 'greed is good', only-out-for-themselves takers lose out over the long run.

Smack Dab in the Middle of Maybe

Jo Watson Hackl

$7.99 $7.35

Children's book, ages 8 and up. Like my childhood favorite From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler, Smack Dab in the Middle of Maybe is an art mystery, but with a Southern twist.

Lies and Other Acts of Love

Kristy Woodson Harvey

$17.00 $15.64

The perfect book club book about love, marriage, sisterhood, and the lies that can destroy or save them all.

Slightly South of Simple, 1

Kristy Woodson Harvey

$16.00 $14.72

Fans of Karen White and Mary Alice Monroe should take note of rising Southern writer Kristy Woodson Harvey.

Dune: Deluxe Edition

Frank Herbert

$40.00 $36.80

Dune is my favorite novel of all time. I re-read every 5-10 years and get something new out of it each time.

Saving CeeCee Honeycutt

Beth Hoffman

$17.00 $15.64

Feel-good read for tough times.

Moonrise

Cassandra King

$16.00 $14.72

I loved this beautiful homage to REBECCA and found MOONRISE and its Highlands, NC setting so appealing that I wished I could immediately hop in my car and visit its nocturnal gardens for myself.

The Last Castle: The Epic Story of Love, Loss, and American Royalty in the Nation's Largest Home

Denise Kiernan

$18.00 $16.56

Who isn't fascinated by America's largest private home, especially when it is so accessible to us here in Greenville. Pair this book with tickets to visit Biltmore and you have a great gift idea!

From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler

E. L. Konigsburg and E. L. Konigsburg

$9.99 $9.19

Newbery Medal winner and one of my favorite childhood reads.

The Orchid Throne

Jeffe Kennedy

$7.99

A wonderful new romantic fantasy series that will be appreciated by fans of Amanda Boucher and Elizabeth Vaughan.

Arcana: A Novel of the Sylvani

Jessica Leake

$7.99

Arcana is a delightful romantic fantasy set in in Edwardian England.

Conflict of Honors, Volume 6

Steve Miller and Sharon Lee

$8.99 $8.27

One of my favorite SF romances of all time! (You can start the series here, no problem.)

What Noise Comes from a Giraffe?

Craig MacLean

$6.99

A great read-aloud for preschoolers with a fun surprise ending.

Essentialism: The Disciplined Pursuit of Less

Greg McKeown

$26.00 $23.92

Many of us get so busy with our day-to-day lives and all the stuff we 'have' to do that we lose sight of what's most important to us in life.

Clockwork: Design Your Business to Run Itself

Mike Michalowicz

$28.00 $25.76

Take your business to the next level and design it to run without your day-to-day input so you can focus on higher strategic objectives.

Darktown, Volume 1

Thomas Mullen

$18.00 $16.56

Darktown is inspired by the experience of the first black police officers hired by the Atlanta Police Department in 1948.

The Wild Girls

Pat Murphy

$8.99

If I had read this book as a teen, maybe I would have grown up to be a writer.

Rough Magic: Riding the World's Loneliest Horse Race

Lara Prior-Palmer

$25.00 $23.00

Like the wild ponies she rides in the ‘world’s longest and toughest horse race’, Lara’s language changes pace from a breathless canter to a meditative walk at unpredictable intervals. The resulting effect is, indeed, Rough Magic, whether you are into adventure yourself or prefer the comforts of home.

My Bookstore: Writers Celebrate Their Favorite Places to Browse, Read, and Shop

Leif Parsons

$17.99

Includes an essay about Fiction Addiction written by Greenville's own Mindy Friddle!

Daily Writing Resilience: 365 Meditations & Inspirations for Writers

Bryan Robinson

$19.98 $18.38

The perfect gift book for the writer (or writer-to-be) in your life!

The Name of the Wind

Patrick Rothfuss

$10.99 $10.11

One of my favorite epic fantasies.

Eleanor & Park

Rainbow Rowell

$18.99 $17.47

I loved this unconventional contemporary love story between two teen misfits.

The Velvet Rope Economy: How Inequality Became Big Business

Nelson D. Schwartz

$28.95 $26.63

You hear the phrase income inequality all the time but this was a very interesting look at how business is actually adapting to this new normal and some of the long-term consequences that may entail.

The Secret Wisdom of the Earth

Christopher Scotton

$14.99 $13.79

This fabulous Southern debut novel is set in Kentucky during the 1980s, at the height of the coal mountaintop removal mining; it is a beautifully moving coming-of-age story with a touching grandfather-grandson relationship.

The Whiskey Baron

Jon Sealy

$16.00 $14.72

Fans of Ron Rash and Wiley Cash will rejoice to find a kindred voice in Jon Sealy's debut novel, The Whiskey Baron, set in a SC mill village in the 1930s.

How to Solve a Problem: The Rise (and Falls) of a Rock-Climbing Champion

Ashima Shiraishi and Yao Xiao

$17.99 $16.55

Develop a growth mindset in your kids.

A Place to Call Home

Deborah Smith

$7.99

Deborah Smith has written a heartbreaking and enchanting story of two star-crossed Southern lovers.

The World Is on Fire: Scrap, Treasure, and Songs of Apocalypse

Joni Tevis

$16.00 $14.72

Joni dazzles with essays showing her intellectual curiosity, amazing breadth of knowledge, and a novelist's flair for language and storytelling.

The Girl from Felony Bay

J. E. Thompson

$6.99

A fresh, funny, and heartwarming middle-grade debut by a South Carolina author.

If It Fits, I Sits: Cats in Awkward Places

Various

$12.99

So true. I have my own cat pictures to prove it!

The Martian

Andy Weir

$17.00 $15.64

So good. The only sci-fi is believing we can get an astronaut to Mars -- after that it's an extremely funny, adventure/survival story.

The Dark Descent of Elizabeth Frankenstein

Kiersten White

$10.99 $10.11

Kiersten White has brilliantly reimagined Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein, creating a story that will enthrall both fans of the classic as well as those encountering it for the first time. Great for bookclubs.

Down the Mysterly River

Bill Willingham

$14.99

The book is out of print but since this makes a great family read-aloud the audio is just as good. The author is better known as the writer behind the Fables comic series.

Tightrope: Americans Reaching for Hope

Sheryl Wudunn and Nicholas D Kristof

$27.95 $25.71

Tough read but ultimately positive. Before you can solve a hard problem, it's important to make sure you understand the true situation.

Secrecy

Rupert Thomson

$16.95

This extremely readable historical novel is set in 17th-century Florence during the decline of the Medicis and is based on the real-life wax sculptor, Zummo, who inspires Thomson's story of love, art, and politics.

Deal Breaker: The First Myron Bolitar Novel

Harlan Coben

$9.99 $9.19

One of those books I never thought I'd like as it features a wise-cracking sports agent and I don't watch team sports at all, but it is fabulous and well deserved it's Edgar win. If you've only read Harlan's standalones don't miss this series.

Damsel

Elana K. Arnold

$10.99 $10.11

This definitely crosses over to adult readers who grew up on Patricia Wrede and loved Naomi Novik's Uprooted. Extremely well-written and smart fantasy.

The Dragon with a Chocolate Heart

Stephanie Burgis

$7.99 $7.35

Dragon with a Chocolate Heart is a great middle-grade girl-power fantasy about a dragon whose love for chocolate leads her into a world of trouble -- including getting turned into a human girl! This pitch-perfect novel is perfect for fans of Tuesdays in the Castle.

Tuesdays at the Castle

Jessica Day George

$8.99 $8.27

Fabulous middle-grade fantasy on any level, but especially great for younger siblings who feel overshadowed.

The Little Prince

Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

$11.99 $11.03

One of my favorite children's books. If you've never read it, it's got a lot for even adults to think about.

The Queen of the Tearling

Erika Johansen

$16.99 $15.63

A beautiful, violent epic fantasy about a teenaged princess who must survive to take over her mother's throne, reverse years of greedy governance, and wrest her kingdom out from under neighboring Mortmesne's control. Recommended for fans of George R.R. Martin.