Jeff VanderMeer Books

By Blue Train Books

By Blue Train Books

Hummingbird Salamander

Jeff VanderMeer

$18.00 $16.56

This literary thriller is now in trade paperback, with a beautiful design by Jeremy Zerfoss. Chuck Wendig called it "an astonishing book, topical and madly compelling."

Secret Life

Jeff VanderMeer and Theo Ellsworth

$24.95 $22.95

A graphic novel interpretation by Theo Ellsworth of the classic short story by Jeff VanderMeer. "With deft insight, Secret Life observes the sinister individualism of bureaucratic settings in contrast with an unconcerned natural world."

Hummingbird Salamander

Jeff VanderMeer

$27.00 $24.84

A modern eco-thriller. A.V. Club said, "This inventive and surprising page-turner may be the purest demonstration yet of VanderMeer's knack for dressing up fascinating philosophical conundrums in the clothing of a taut, breakneck thriller."

Terraform: Watch/Worlds/Burn

$20.00 $18.40

An anthology with an original Jeff VanderMeer short story called "Always Home". "Founding editors and Claire L. Evans and Brian Merchant have assembled a deep roster of established names and rising talents, from Bruce Sterling, Cory Doctorow, and Omar El Akkad to E. Lily Yu, Elvia Wilk, and Tochi Onyebuchi."

Dead Astronauts

Jeff VanderMeer

$27.00 $24.84

A novel set in the same universe as Borne. NYTBR reviewer Chelsea Leu described it as, "a darkly transcendent novel filled with phantasmagoric visions, body horror and tortured beings traversing a blasted desert hellscape . . . terrifying and so compelling."

Borne

Jeff VanderMeer

$17.00 $15.64

Unclassifiable (and that's a good thing). Colson Whitehead had to say, "Jeff VanderMeer's Southern Reach Trilogy was an ever-creeping map of the apocalypse; with Borne he continues his investigation into the malevolent grace of the world, and it's a thorough marvel." Laura Miller in The New Yorker: "The conceptual elements in VanderMeer's fiction are so striking that the firmness with which he cinches them to his characters' lives is often overlooked."

A Peculiar Peril

Jeff VanderMeer

$21.99 $20.23

Strange adventures for the younger and older reader alike. "A head-spinning epic about three friends on a quest to protect the world from a threat as unknowable as it is terrifying." "Perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman and Patrick Rothfuss." --Paste Magazine

City of Saints and Madmen

Jeff VanderMeer

$21.00 $19.32

The indescribable opus that started it all. In addition to the fiction and meta-fiction contained herein, the story of how this book even came to exist is its own epic tale. Features Jeff's first novel Dradin in Love and World Fantasy Award winner "The Transformation of Martin Lake".

Shriek: An Afterword

Jeff VanderMeer

$18.00 $16.56

"An epic yet personal look at several decades of life, love, and death in the imaginary city of Ambergris...Narrated with flamboyant intensity and under increasingly urgent conditions by the ex-society figure Janice Shriek, this afterword presents a vivid gallery of characters and events, emphasizing the adventures of Janice's brother Duncan, a historian obsessed with a doomed love affair and a secret that may kill or transform him." Go deep into the world of the gray caps and the Family Shriek.

Finch

Jeff VanderMeer

$18.00 $16.56

Vivid and visceral, a police procedural like you've never read. "In a deserted tenement in an occupied city, two dead bodies lie on a dusty floor as if they have fallen out of the air. One corpse is cut in half, the other is utterly unmarked. One is human, the other isn't. The city of Ambergris is half ruined, rotten, its population controlled by narcotics, internment camps, and acts of terror. But its new masters want this case closed, urgently. Detective John Finch has just one week to solve it or be sent to the camps."

Annihilation: A Novel: Movie Tie-In Edition

Jeff VanderMeer

$14.00 $12.88

Book 1 of the Southern Reach trilogy, tie-in edition for the movie Annihilation by Alex Garland

Annihilation

Jeff VanderMeer

$16.00 $14.72

Book 1 of the Southern Reach trilogy, featuring Area X

Authority

Jeff VanderMeer

$17.00 $15.64

Book 2 of the Southern Reach trilogy, an interior spy thriller that will delight fans of John le Carre.

Acceptance

Jeff VanderMeer

$17.00 $15.64

Book 3 of the Southern Reach trilogy. Many questions answered, yet many mysteries deepened.

Area X: The Southern Reach Trilogy: Annihilation; Authority; Acceptance

Jeff VanderMeer

$36.00 $33.12

The Southern Reach trilogy all in one volume

Ambergris: City of Saints and Madmen; Shriek: An Afterword; Finch

Jeff VanderMeer

$35.00 $32.20

A complete compendium of the Ambergris universe. All three books of The Amerbris Trilogy in one volume. Some meta-fiction of the original City of Saints are not included due to length, but the essentials are there. Nice to hold at all in your hand in one book.

Booklife: Strategies and Survival Tips for the 21st-Century Writer

Jeff VanderMeer

$14.95

Essential reading for the artist trying to make it in today's fragmented, self-promoting world. How do you keep producing art and stay sane while engaging with the world to connect with readers?

Wonderbook (Revised and Expanded): The Illustrated Guide to Creating Imaginative Fiction

Jeff VanderMeer

$27.50 $25.30

A must for anyone interested in world building and speculative fiction writing. A potentially life-changing gift for the young and ambitious writer in your life.

Monstrous Creatures: Explorations of Fantasy Through Essays, Articles and Reviews

Jeff VanderMeer

$14.95

Jeff VanderMeer has been a regular commentator, essayist, and book reviewer. Some great stuff in here, covering a period of time in the world of fantastic fiction.