Inter State: Essays from California Pilgrim Bell: Poems Slipping Pop Song: Adventures in Art & Intimacy You Better Be Lightning In Memory of Memory Slipping
Slipping Inter State: Essays from California Las Biuty Queens: Stories Amanda Paradise Pilgrim Bell: Poems Amanda Paradise In Memory of Memory
Transmutation: Stories Transmutation: Stories Transmutation: Stories In Memory of Memory A Ghost in the Throat Black Box: The Memoir That Sparked Japan's #Metoo Movement You Better Be Lightning
The Sunflower Cast a Spell to Save Us from the Void Black Box: The Memoir That Sparked Japan's #Metoo Movement Las Biuty Queens: Stories Las Biuty Queens: Stories A Ghost in the Throat The Sunflower Cast a Spell to Save Us from the Void Pop Song: Adventures in Art & Intimacy

Indie Press Highlights 2021

Indie Press Highlights 2021

By Bookshop.org
Slipping

Slipping

Mohamed Kheir

$16.95 $15.76

“A novel of the strange spaces in the folds between magic and reality, the in-between places in every city, the stories that fog and change as memory erodes. . . . Strange, beautiful, challenging, and perfect for fans of Kathryn Davis and Carmen Maria Machado.” —Josh Cook, Porter Square Books

Transmutation: Stories

Transmutation: Stories

Alex Difrancesco

$16.95 $15.76

“Alex DiFrancesco has written stories here that are so unearthly they feel as if they have gossamer wings, characters lifting off the page to hold court in startling three-dimensional life. . . . Transmutation is the kind of story collection that will stick with you for days after reading.” —Kristen Arnett, author of Mostly Dead Things

In Memory of Memory

In Memory of Memory

Maria Stepanova

$19.95 $18.55

“A daring combination of family history and roving cultural analysis. . . . A kaleidoscopic, time-shuffling look at one family of Russian Jews throughout a fiercely eventful century.” —John Williams, The New York Times

Las Biuty Queens: Stories

Las Biuty Queens: Stories

Iván Monalisa Ojeda

$21.00 $19.53

"Iván Monalisa Ojeda brings to life a breathtaking world of camaraderie, beautiful messiness, pain, and resilience in Las Biuty Queens. He/she offers us captivating snapshots of Latinx trans sex workers living, working, and loving in New York City, telling a story close to my heart: that of keeping one another alive, fed, bailed out, and in deliciously deviant company amidst the harshness of criminalization. This book is like the money a friend slips in your pocket when they know you can't make rent: a fortifying whisper to carry on, and carry each other with us." —Tourmaline, filmmaker and activist

Pop Song: Adventures in Art & Intimacy

Pop Song: Adventures in Art & Intimacy

Larissa Pham

$26.00 $24.18

“Larissa Pham combines the thrilling and agonized travails of her young narrator with the lucid and steady eye of a born critic. The combination is a compelling portrait of one artist's development through the mirrors of her favorite artists.” —Melissa Febos

Black Box: The Memoir That Sparked Japan's #Metoo Movement

Black Box: The Memoir That Sparked Japan's #Metoo Movement

Shiori Ito

$17.95 $16.69

“The vital urgency of Shiori Ito's record forces us to recognize the existence of the many similar cases that have gone unrecorded. Behind her words are the cries of countless others who did not speak up because of the intense pressure against them.” —Sayaka Murata, author of Convenience Store Woman

A Ghost in the Throat

A Ghost in the Throat

Doireann Ní Ghríofa

$16.95 $15.76

“A mesmeric journey into the lives of two remarkable women—their art, suffering, sacrifices, ecstasies, transcendence—bound together across time.” —Literary Hub

Inter State: Essays from California

Inter State: Essays from California

José Vadi

$16.95 $15.76

“This is a must read book, it must be read to yourself, aloud to your friends, and to strangers on the bus. . . . This collection showcases a voice keenly aware of how history is alive both in the landscape as well as inside his own writing body.” —sam sax, author of Madness and Bury It

The Sunflower Cast a Spell to Save Us from the Void

The Sunflower Cast a Spell to Save Us from the Void

Jackie Wang

$16.95 $15.76

“With Wang's poems' suggestion that not much is worth saving in a world that values all the wrong things, perhaps a single sunflower sprouting from the rubble is all we need to be guided toward the light.” —Hannah Treasure, Akimbo Books

Pilgrim Bell: Poems

Pilgrim Bell: Poems

Kaveh Akbar

$16.00 $14.88

" Pilgrim Bell is a book that chooses honesty over beauty, which makes it a breathtaking text." —Hanif Abdurraqib

You Better Be Lightning

You Better Be Lightning

Andrea Gibson

$18.00 $16.74

“Andrea Gibson seamlessly spins hopelessness into hope, fires back at social norms, and challenges what it means to be alive and to be human.” —them

Amanda Paradise

Amanda Paradise

Caconrad

$18.00 $16.74

“CAConrad’s . . . kind of queerness strikes me as nonpolarizing, not intentionally but because of the fullness of their exposition, a kind of gigantism that seems to me to be most deeply informed by love, and a tenderness for the ravages and tumult of existence.” —Eileen Myles