In One Ear and Out the Other: Antonia Brico and Her Amazingly Musical Life...and books like it

By Penny Candy Books

By Penny Candy Books

In an era when women couldn’t become conductors, Antonia Brico didn’t listen to discouraging words. Those words went in one ear and out the other. The second title in Penny Candy’s Amazing Women Series of nonfiction picture books, In One Ear and Out the Other: Antonia Brico and Her Amazingly Musical Life tells the story of one woman’s fight to gain recognition as a conductor in an era when men dominated classical music. The first woman to guest-conduct the New York Philharmonic Orchestra, Antonia Brico never secured a permanent conducting job with a major symphony—but her contributions paved the way for the many women conductors to follow. A true visionary in the long fight for equal opportunities for women. 

In One Ear and Out the Other: Antonia Brico and Her Amazingly Musical Life

Diane Worthey and Morgana Wallace

$16.95 $15.59

When men told her that women couldn’t become conductors, Antonia Brico wasn’t listening. The second title in Penny Candy’s Amazing Women Series of nonfiction picture books.

Dancing Hands: How Teresa Carreño Played the Piano for President Lincoln

Margarita Engle and Rafael López

$17.99 $16.55

Ella Fitzgerald

Maria Isabel Sanchez Vegara and Bàrbara Alca

$14.99 $13.79

Because

Mo Willems and Amber Ren

$17.99 $16.55

Hedy and Her Amazing Invention

Jan Wahl and Morgana Wallace

$16.95 $15.59

The first title in Penny Candy’s Amazing Women Series of nonfiction picture books. Also illustrated by Morgana Wallace.

Debut author Worthey has created a book that celebrates a lesser-known figure in the women’s rights movement and encourages girls to pursue their dreams, no matter the obstacles and difficulties. With profiles both of women who paved the way for Maestro Brico and of female conductors currently working, as well as a colorful timeline of Brico’s life, In One Ear and Out the Other will inspire children and adults to learn more about classical music and the art of conducting a symphony orchestra.