Gwen's Recommended Reading

By Solid State Books

By Solid State Books

Events Coordinator Gwen has everything you need here, from science writing to poetry.

Under the Glacier

Halldor Laxness

$15.95 $14.67

Before magical realism there was Under The Glacier. Told from the perspective of a skeptic who is assigned to determine the true nature of what's going on at Glacier, a small Icelandic town at the bottom of a beautiful glacier which is suspected to have certain powers and can reanimate the dead. Funny as hell as well as a deep meditation on spirituality, nature, and love.

Synthesizing Gravity: Selected Prose

Kay Ryan

$25.00 $22.50

Essays of literary criticism by US Poet Laureate Kay Ryan. Ryan writes with wit and candor about poetry, the writing life, and the nature of the mind in pursuit of making art.

The Pine Islands

Marion Poschmann

$16.95 $15.59

Short novel about the quest to find a life worth living. Funny, poetic and uplifting (though I did cry once or twice).

Breasts and Eggs

Mieko Kawakami

$27.00 $24.30

Well-crafted novel about the female relationship to society, to family, and to one's own body. Thought-provoking and beautiful.

Entangled Life: How Fungi Make Our Worlds, Change Our Minds & Shape Our Futures

Merlin Sheldrake

$28.00 $25.20

Science writing about the magnificent nature of fungi! For fans of The Underland and Overstory.

The Memory Police

Yoko Ogawa

$25.95 $23.36

Minority Report meets The Giver in this novel about a small Japanese town where memories, and people, are stolen never to be remembered again. Ogawa masters the Japanese art of horror -- eerie and unsettling.

The Yellow House: A Memoir (2019 National Book Award Winner)

Sarah M Broom

$26.00 $23.40

2019 National Book Award winner for Non-fiction The Yellow House is a masterpiece. Broom's skill is best evinced in the book's pacing, moving from room to room in the "house", opening some doors quickly, others slowly, revealing the portrait of a family, a home, and a community.

Coming Through Slaughter

Michael Ondaatje

$15.00 $13.80

Uniquely stylistic biographical novel about New Orleans jazz pioneer Buddy Bolden as he loses his sanity. Post modern perfection.

The Music Shop

Rachel Joyce

$17.00 $15.64

Fun romance about two young people who meet and fall in love through music. Genuine and sweet.

Birds Without Wings

Louis De Bernieres

$17.00 $15.64

An epic tale of love and war set in Anatolia just before World War I. Full of rich detail and wonderfully realized characters, an entire village comes to life in your hands.

Station Island

Seamus Heaney

$15.00 $13.80

A blend of personal and political poetry about Northern Ireland. If you liked Say Nothing and are looking for a more intimate perspective look no further than Station Island.