From BookPeople's Teen Press Corps

By BookPeople

By BookPeople

Looking for a great YA pick? Here's a mix of old and new favorites recommended straight from the members of BookPeople's Teen Press Corps, a group of select Austin teens who write reviews, interview authors, and liveblog the Texas Teen Book Festival every year. 

Infinity Son

Adam Silvera

$18.98 $17.46

"Infinity Son was a lot of fun! Silvera obviously enjoyed the heck out of writing this book, because it shows in his work. It is an action-packed, somewhat hokey, and appropriately relatable novel that is a worthwhile addition to any YA fan’s shelf." - Ivy

Foul Is Fair

Hannah Capin

$18.98 $17.46

"Books about girls trying to become the queen bee can feel tired, but none of them are pitch-perfect retellings of Macbeth. Even then I’ll admit that the reimagined Shakespeare style could’ve been cringy, but it wasn’t! Part of the reason I enjoyed this book so much was that its incredibility came out of nowhere." - Ivy

The Beautiful

Renée Ahdieh

$18.98 $17.46

"A gorgeous tale of mystery, magic, and romance woven together with fluid, vivid writing. I loved the unique characters and lively time period. It's so captivating!" - Colleen

Black Enough: Stories of Being Young & Black in America

Lamar Giles, Dhonielle Clayton, Coe Booth, Varian Johnson, Jason Reynolds, Justina Ireland, Rita Williams-Garcia, Ibi Zoboi, Nic Stone, Liara Tamani, Tracey Baptiste, Kekla Magoon, Brandy Colbert, Jay Coles, Leah Henderson, Tochi Onyebuchi, and Renée Watson

$17.98 $16.54

"This collection of stories rally around those in the black community and say “I hear you! I know you! I’ve been where you’ve been!”. These unique yet relatable anecdotes have made me laugh and cry in the same hour. I love reading these stories and telling my friends, saying “This!! We all did this!!” From interracial love to gay encounters and those in between, this book shows just how diverse the black community is, and how still, we are all connected." - Olubunmi

Turtles All the Way Down

John Green

$14.99 $13.79

"Turtles All the Way Down is a book I would recommend to anyone, any day. I’ve reread it so many times, and every time it always manages to teach me something new. There may not be a happy ending, but a realistic one, and I for one am a better person now that I have read this book." - Ava

The Strange Fascinations of Noah Hypnotik

David Arnold

$18.98 $17.46

"If you are looking for a whimsical but grounded, strange but fascinating, and exhilarating read, this book is for you. Read it, and tell me what you think! I’d wholeheartedly say it’s worth your time." - Xander

The Love and Lies of Rukhsana Ali

Sabina Khan

$17.98 $16.54

"I absolutely loved going on this journey with Rukhsana and I learned a lot about Muslim culture in the process. Khan is able to beautifully depict the many Muslim ceremonies Rukhsana attends, and her writing will make you fall in love with her characters and their stories." - Karen

A Danger to Herself and Others

Alyssa Sheinmel

$17.98 $16.54

"This story will completely smash all expectations you had after reading the blurb and piece it all together in a way that makes triple the amount of sense. With each small detail revealed surrounding Hannah’s past or the accident, I found myself in awe of the ingenuity and true-to-life aspects of it all. Due to its small cast of characters, Hannah always takes center stage, which makes it incredibly easy to picture yourself in her shoes, feeling her emotions, and facing her struggles." - Lizzie

Genesis Begins Again

Alicia D Williams

$17.98 $16.54

"This book broke my heart and then put it back together in approximate 400 pages. Genesis (a 13-year-old) believes that at the root of her family’s problems (and there are a lot) is her blackness. Throughout the book she witnesses what being lighter could do, and chases it. While it holds the humor that only a book that follows a 13-year-old can, it strikes me as a bit similar to Toni Morrison’s The Bluest Eye." - Olubunmi

Aru Shah and the End of Time

Roshani Chokshi

$16.98 $15.62

"This book was such a delightful read. As expected, Roshani Chokshi writing style flowed beautifully and made all of Aru’s adventures vivid and colorful in my mind. She was able to capture the sassy-ness of your typical seventh grade girl with acute accuracy and I found myself smiling even when Aru and her newfound sister Mini were in the face of imminent danger." - Colleen

The Poet X

Elizabeth Acevedo

$17.98 $16.54

"Among burning books and screaming parents who do not approve of what is “unholy”. She spoke loud for her brother. Spoke loud for herself. She learned to speak with fire on her tongue. A poem etched in tears and smiles. She learned to write poetry, and become The Poet X" - Olubunmi

Slay

Brittney Morris

$18.98 $17.46

"This book is a powerful debut that makes me extremely excited to see what Brittney Morris does next. The ending was the best part, the climax and conclusion equal parts action-packed, subversive and heartfelt. SLAY is a short and smart novel about the importance of freedom, pride and safe spaces where people can be their kickass selves in today’s frustratingly unjust society." - Ivy

The Apocalypse of Elena Mendoza (Reprint)

Shaun David Hutchinson

$17.98 $16.54

"The Apocalypse of Elena Mendoza is a novel that asks the reader to look inside themselves and ask the same questions Elena asks. With a diverse array of characters and a philosophical theme that mixes dashes of romance, comedy and a great deal of science-fiction, Shaun David Hutchinson writes a book everyone should read." - Olubunmi

The Magnolia Sword: A Ballad of Mulan

Sherry Thomas

$19.95 $18.35

"A tale of a blood feud and reconciliatory journey. Hua Mulan has trained her entire life to battle in a duel for possession of two heirloom swords, but when was comes to the region, she must dress as a man and go fight. Soon she finds herself racing to save the country." - Ming

Girls of Paper and Fire

James Patterson and Natasha Ngan

$18.98 $17.46

"This book was a thrilling unexpected read, which dealt with intense topics (TW: rape, sexual assault, violence) in a lyrical way. As someone who loves reading but is very slow at doing so, the pace with which I flew through this book was incredible. Ngan’s writing was encapsulating, the plot was constantly moving forward while the characters were developing, and then she would pause for a moment of imagery that was subtle and detailed amidst the action. Though the diction itself was not complex, the way Ngan strung words together made the novel a beautiful piece of literature." - Harriet

Carry on

Rainbow Rowell

$10.99 $10.11

"I’d say Carry On is the perfect novel for anyone looking for a book that is different from the traditional genres of either ‘adventure’ or ‘contemporary’. I devoured this book, and can definitely forsee it becoming a book I reread many times in the future!" - Ava

Are You Listening?

Tillie Walden

$17.98 $16.54

"The gentle queerness of Are You Listening? and all of Tillie’s work holds and protects the story like sequential art Magic Shell. The mood is sweet, of course, but also unwaveringly true. Her characters have such certainty in them, such strong emotion and belief. The beauty in their relationships is also of note, their loyalty and connection evident from their first interaction." - Ivy

A Heart in a Body in the World

Deb Caletti

$18.98 $17.46

"After trauma struck Annabelle's life, she hardly recognizes herself. Hopeless and empty she takes her pain and channels it into running across the U.S. This book will make you smile but also cry as Annabelle discovers meaning and hope in the ruins of her once picture-perfect life." - Rosie

Five Feet Apart

Rachael Lippincott, Mikki Daughtry, and Tobias Iaconis

$18.98 $17.46

"A look into the life of people with CF, falling in love and not being able to touch. Five Feet Apart is so sad and happy, it is so intimate and real and you get to know so much of what it's like to be a kid in the hospital." - Liri

Defy Me

Tahereh Mafi

$18.98 $17.46

"The fifth book in Tahereh Mafi's bestselling Shatter Me series, Defy Me continues the story of Juliette and her fight against the Reestablishment... a great feel-good book for fans of Six of Crows and A Court of Thorns and Roses." - Fatimah

Permanent Record

Mary H K Choi

$18.98 $17.46

"This nuanced and extremely hopeful novel is about how everyone has the ability to reinvent themselves, whether they make that choice or not. About how sometimes going your own way is the right choice, and how it’s okay to have your own version of success. Mary H.K. Choi has once again shown virtuoso talent with her incredible version of a new adult romance and I am on the edge of my seat waiting to see what she does next." - Ivy

House of Earth and Blood

Sarah J Maas

$28.00 $25.20

"I absolutely loved this book! I had such a blast reading it. I cried, laughed, smiled, and felt all the feelings and struggles of Bryce throughout the book. It truly tackles the pain of loss and the healing strength of love in a powerful way that I will never forget! If you’re looking for a magical, impactful read, you should definitely pick this one up!" - Colleen