Charlie’s Stay-at-Home Reads

By Buffalo Books & Coffee

By Buffalo Books & Coffee

Trust Exercise

Susan Choi

$27.00 $24.30

This is an excellent #MeToo era novel full equal parts humor and drama. Susan Choi writes of an elite performing arts high school in the 1980s where teens are given overwhelmingly cynical emotional expectations from their adult superiors "in the name of art." The narrative shift mid-way through is stunning!

Hollow Kingdom

Kira Jane Buxton

$27.00 $24.30

Just a really funny, slightly crass read. The story follows a potty-mouthed pet crow and his dog friend as they set off on a journey to discover why their owner and the rest of the human race all turned into brain-eating zombies.

The Silent Companions

Laura Purcell

$16.00 $14.72

Shannon calls this the spooky-doll book. You'll just have to read it and find out why. Be sure you have a friend to call when you wake up in the middle of the night seeing doll silhouettes.

Freedom

Jonathan Franzen

$18.00 $16.56

An expansive social novel with excellent characters that ponders what freedom means in 21st century America.

The Eye of the World: Book One of the Wheel of Time

Robert Jordan

$10.99 $10.11

For fans of Tolkien and other fantasy. This is the first in a great series soon to be a TV show. It's kind of a commitment though. The series spans a whopping 14 books and even has a prequel novel.

What We Talk about When We Talk about Love: Stories

Raymond Carver

$15.00 $13.80

Simple, effective, classic short stories from a master of the form.

The Index of Self-Destructive Acts

Christopher Beha

$27.95 $25.16

In the vein of Franzen's Freedom, Christopher Beha tackles a family living with extreme wealth in the after math of the 2008 financial crisis.

All the Pretty Horses: Border Trilogy (1)

Cormac McCarthy

$16.00 $14.72

Splendid, emotionally vivid writing from the author of No Country For Old Men and The Road. This one is far less violent than those two, but it's a beautiful ode to the Texas-Mexico border landscape and the people (and horses) that give it life.

A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man

James Joyce

$11.00 $10.12

This is go-to James Joyce if you're not ready for the beast that is Ulysses. A beautiful coming of age tale about young Stephen Dedalus (Joyce's alter ego) developing as an artist in early 20th century Ireland.

A Room of One's Own

Virginia Woolf

$13.99 $12.87

This one's a short inspiring read. Told in somewhat of a relatable lecture format, Woolf lays out the terms for how a woman can live a creative life within the confines of a male-dominated field.