Best New Fiction of Early 2023

Best New Fiction of Early 2023

By Buffalo Street Books
The Bandit Queens

The Bandit Queens

Parini Shroff

$28.00 $26.04

A sharp and witty debut with a dose of women's empowerment. Perfect for readers of Mia P. Manansala and Kamila Shamsie.

Endpapers

Endpapers

Jennifer Savran Kelly

$27.00 $25.11

From debut (& local!) author Jennifer Savran Kelly comes this enthralling tale of post-911 New York City and the coming of age of queer, non binary bookbinder Dawn. Along the way we also solve a mystery buried in the endpapers of an old book.

I Have Some Questions for You

I Have Some Questions for You

Rebecca Makkai

$28.00 $26.04

A boarding school novel, an unsolved mystery, and a complex coming of age novel -- I Have Some Questions for you by Rebecca Makkai is a compelling and satisfying read.

The Great Reclamation

The Great Reclamation

Rachel Heng

$28.00 $26.04

Illuminating the historical foundations of contemporary Singapore, this novel is an exploration of what happens when history and individuals collide.

The Half Moon

The Half Moon

Mary Beth Keane

$28.00 $26.04

From the author of Ask Again, Yes, Mary Beth Keane, comes another complex family epic.

Between Two Moons

Between Two Moons

Aisha Abdel Gawad

$28.00 $26.04

A young Muslim woman navigates growing pains, family love, and anti-Muslim aggression in this debut coming of age novel.

The Postcard

The Postcard

Anne Berest

$28.00 $26.04

An epic story of family & resistance set in World War II France. Reveals the underside of French accession to Hitler, alongside the humanity of those who helped others survive.

Chain Gang All Stars

Chain Gang All Stars

Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah

$27.00 $25.11

A brutal and beautiful parable on the prison industrial complex. A fable for our times.

Holding Pattern

Holding Pattern

Jenny Xie

$28.00 $26.04

A young woman struggles to understand her Chinese immigrant mother and herself. Funny and heartwarming, this one is also brutally honest as it tears through cultural, familial, and historical barriers.