A Kite in the Wind: Fiction Writers on Their Craft The Art of Fiction: Notes on Craft for Young Writers The Heroine's Journey: Woman's Quest for Wholeness How Fiction Works: (Tenth Anniversary Edition) Updated and Expanded (Revised) The Heroine's Journey: For Writers, Readers, and Fans of Pop Culture Dreyer's English: An Utterly Correct Guide to Clarity and Style The Last Draft: A Novelist's Guide to Revision
Making Shapely Fiction Burning Down the House: Essays on Fiction (Expanded) The Art of Time in Fiction: As Long as It Takes The Art of Revision: The Last Word Truth Is the Arrow, Mercy Is the Bow: A DIY Manual for the Construction of Stories The Emotional Craft of Fiction: How to Write the Story Beneath the Surface The Art of Mystery: The Search for Questions
Consider This: Moments in My Writing Life After Which Everything Was Different The Hidden Machinery: Essays on Writing Before and After the Book Deal: A Writer's Guide to Finishing, Publishing, Promoting, and Surviving Your First Book Craft in the Real World: Rethinking Fiction Writing and Workshopping How Not to Write a Novel: 200 Classic Mistakes and How to Avoid Them--A Misstep-By-Misstep Guide The Heroine's Journey: For Writers, Readers, and Fans of Pop Culture Truth Is the Arrow, Mercy Is the Bow: A DIY Manual for the Construction of Stories
Bringing the Devil to His Knees: The Craft of Fiction and the Writing Life From Where You Dream: The Process of Writing Fiction Aspects of the Novel The Heroine's Journey: Woman's Quest for Wholeness Master Class in Fiction Writing: Techniques from Austen, Hemingway, and Other Greats: Lessons from the All-Star Writer's Workshop The Art of Perspective: Who Tells the Story The Half-Known World: On Writing Fiction

Best Craft Books for Wanna-Be (& Wanna-Be-Better) Writers

Best Craft Books for Wanna-Be (& Wanna-Be-Better) Writers

By The 7am Novelist w Michelle Hoover
The Art of Fiction: Notes on Craft for Young Writers

The Art of Fiction: Notes on Craft for Young Writers

John Gardner

$17.00 $15.81

Salty and likely offensive, but so much good stuff in between.

The Art of Mystery: The Search for Questions

The Art of Mystery: The Search for Questions

Maud Casey

$14.00 $13.02

Maud Casey in her element.

The Art of Perspective: Who Tells the Story

The Art of Perspective: Who Tells the Story

Christopher Castellani

$15.00 $13.95

From GrubStreet's own Chris Castellani.

The Art of Revision: The Last Word

The Art of Revision: The Last Word

Peter Ho Davies

$15.00 $13.95

Davies is a must. Enough said.

The Art of Time in Fiction: As Long as It Takes

The Art of Time in Fiction: As Long as It Takes

Joan Silber

$14.00 $13.02

THE problem for many fiction writers. Silber nails it.

Aspects of the Novel

Aspects of the Novel

E. M. Forster

$14.99 $13.94

Often mentioned in workshops for a reason.

Burning Down the House: Essays on Fiction (Expanded)

Burning Down the House: Essays on Fiction (Expanded)

Charles Baxter

$18.00 $16.74

Read this too.

Consider This: Moments in My Writing Life After Which Everything Was Different

Consider This: Moments in My Writing Life After Which Everything Was Different

Chuck Palahniuk

$27.00 $25.11

He's a writer's favorite writer's nerd!

Craft in the Real World: Rethinking Fiction Writing and Workshopping

Craft in the Real World: Rethinking Fiction Writing and Workshopping

Matthew Salesses

$16.95 $15.76

MUST READ. Rethink your assumptions about craft and open something new for yourself.

Dreyer's English: An Utterly Correct Guide to Clarity and Style

Dreyer's English: An Utterly Correct Guide to Clarity and Style

Benjamin Dreyer

$26.00 $24.18

Don't trust someone else to do all of this for you. Basics every writer should know.

The Emotional Craft of Fiction: How to Write the Story Beneath the Surface

The Emotional Craft of Fiction: How to Write the Story Beneath the Surface

Donald Maass

$19.99 $18.59

Maass makes mistakes when it comes to anything non-Western and makes many assumptions I disagree with, but this is still the best book on emotion I've found.

From Where You Dream: The Process of Writing Fiction

From Where You Dream: The Process of Writing Fiction

Robert Olen Butler

$18.00 $16.74

Check out his chapter "A Writer Prepares." Excellent for an intuitive process somewhere between pantsing and plotting.

The Half-Known World: On Writing Fiction

The Half-Known World: On Writing Fiction

Robert Boswell

$16.00 $14.88

Unique and necessary. Excellent discussion on 3rd person omniscience, among other gold nuggets.

The Hidden Machinery: Essays on Writing

The Hidden Machinery: Essays on Writing

Margot Livesey

$15.95 $14.83

Margot is a beloved teacher of many. This books holds so much about why.

How Fiction Works: (Tenth Anniversary Edition) Updated and Expanded (Revised)

How Fiction Works: (Tenth Anniversary Edition) Updated and Expanded (Revised)

James Wood

$19.00 $17.67

Another salty one, but very smart. You'll learn something.

How Not to Write a Novel: 200 Classic Mistakes and How to Avoid Them--A Misstep-By-Misstep Guide

How Not to Write a Novel: 200 Classic Mistakes and How to Avoid Them--A Misstep-By-Misstep Guide

Sandra Newman and Howard Mittelmark

$19.99

By one of my fave authors.

The Last Draft: A Novelist's Guide to Revision

The Last Draft: A Novelist's Guide to Revision

Sandra Scofield

$24.00

Her book on scenes knocked me over with practical, specific advice. This one will too.

Making Shapely Fiction

Making Shapely Fiction

Jerome Stern

$16.95 $15.76

Necessary alternatives to the triangle.

Master Class in Fiction Writing: Techniques from Austen, Hemingway, and Other Greats: Lessons from the All-Star Writer's Workshop

Master Class in Fiction Writing: Techniques from Austen, Hemingway, and Other Greats: Lessons from the All-Star Writer's Workshop

Adam Sexton

$22.00

Check out the chapters on POV. Best I've seen in how he defines pov choices, their weaknesses, and their strengths. Also very good on style and voice.