Award Winners - Caldecott Medal

By Sandcastle Tales Del Mar Bookstore

By Sandcastle Tales Del Mar Bookstore

The Caldecott Medal was named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.

The Undefeated

Kwame Alexander and Kadir Nelson

$17.99 $16.55

2020 Medal Winner

Hello Lighthouse

Sophie Blackall

$18.99 $17.47

2019 Medal Winner

Wolf in the Snow

Matthew Cordell

$17.99 $16.55

2018 Medal Winner

Radiant Child: The Story of Young Artist Jean-Michel Basquiat

Javaka Steptoe

$18.99 $17.47

2017 Medal Winner

Finding Winnie: The True Story of the World's Most Famous Bear

Lindsay Mattick and Sophie Blackall

$18.99 $17.47

2016 Medal Winner

The Adventures of Beekle: The Unimaginary Friend

Dan Santat

$18.99 $17.47

2015 Medal Winner


Brian Floca

$19.99 $18.39

2014 Medal Winner

This Is Not My Hat

Jon Klassen

$17.99 $16.55

2013 Medal Winner

A Ball for Daisy

Chris Raschka

$17.99 $16.55

2012 Medal Winner

A Sick Day for Amos McGee

Philip C. Stead and Erin E Stead

$18.99 $17.47

2011 Medal Winner

The Lion & the Mouse

Jerry Pinkney

$18.98 $17.46

2010 Medal Winner

The House in the Night Board Book

Susan Marie Swanson and Beth Krommes

$7.99 $7.35

2009 Medal Winner

The Invention of Hugo Cabret

Brian Selznick

$24.99 $22.49

2008 Medal Winner


David Wiesner

$18.99 $17.47

2007 Medal Winner

The Hello, Goodbye Window

Norton Juster and Chris Raschka

$18.99 $17.47

2006 Medal Winner

Kitten's First Full Moon

Kevin Henkes

$17.99 $16.55

2005 Medal Winner

The Man Who Walked Between the Towers

Mordicai Gerstein

$18.99 $17.47

2004 Medal Winner

My Friend Rabbit

Eric Rohmann

$18.99 $17.47

2003 Medal Winner