Books by Michael Eric Dyson


MICHAEL ERIC DYSON--Distinguished University Professor of African American and Diaspora Studies, College of Arts & Science, and of Ethics and Society, Divinity School, and NEH Centennial Chair at Vanderbilt University--is one of America's premier public intellectuals and the author of numerous New York Times bestsellers including Tears We Cannot Stop, What Truth Sounds Like, JAY-Z, and Long Time Coming. A winner of the 2018 nonfiction Southern Book Prize, Dr. Dyson is also a recipient of two NAACP Image awards and the 2020 Langston Hughes Festival Medallion. Former president Barack Obama has noted: "Everybody who speaks after Michael Eric Dyson pales in comparison.


This Is the Day: The March on Washington

Leonard Freed and Michael Eric Dyson


Jay-Z: Made in America

Michael Eric Dyson


Articulate While Black: Barack Obama, Language, and Race in...

Geneva Smitherman and H. Samy Alim


Tears We Cannot Stop: A Sermon to White America

Michael Eric Dyson


Long Time Coming: Reckoning with Race in America

Michael Eric Dyson


Entertaining Race: Performing Blackness in America

Michael Eric Dyson


Greyboy: Finding Blackness in a White World

Cole Brown


Unequal: A Story of America

Michael Eric Dyson and Marc Favreau