Lucy Hughes-Hallett


Lucy Hughes-Hallett is the author of The Pike: Gabriele D'Annunzio, which won the Samuel Johnson Prize, the Duff Cooper Prize, the Political Book Award for Political Biography of the Year, and the Costa Biography Award; Cleopatra: Histories, Dreams and Distortions, which won the Fawcett Prize and the Emily Toth Award; and Heroes: Saviours, Traitors and Supermen. She lives in London.


Jane Eyre

Charlotte Bronte


My Antonia

Willa Cather and W. T. Benda


A Thousand Acres

Jane Smiley



Lucy Hughes-Hallett


Peculiar Ground

Lucy Hughes-Hallett


Fabulous: Stories

Lucy Hughes-Hallett



Charlotte Bronte


Dombey and Son

Charles Dickens



Daphne du Maurier


Fabulous Lib/E: Stories

Lucy Hughes-Hallett