Jane Austen


Jane Austen ( 16 December 1775 - 18 July 1817) was an English novelist known primarily for her six major novels, which interpret, critique and comment upon the British landed gentry at the end of the 18th century. Austen's plots often explore the dependence of women on marriage in the pursuit of favourable social standing and economic security. Her works critique the novels of sensibility of the second half of the 18th century and are part of the transition to 19th-century literary realism.[b] Her use of biting irony, along with her realism, humour, and social commentary, have long earned her acclaim among critics, scholars, and popular audiences alike. With the publications of Sense and Sensibility (1811), Pride and Prejudice (1813), Mansfield Park (1814) and Emma (1816), she achieved success as a published writer. She wrote two additional novels, Northanger Abbey and Persuasion, both published posthumously in 1818, and began another, eventually titled Sanditon, but died before its completion. She also left behind three volumes of juvenile writings in manuscript, a short epistolary novel Lady Susan, and another unfinished novel, The Watsons. Her six full-length novels have rarely been out of print, although they were published anonymously and brought her moderate success and little fame during her lifetime. A significant transition in her posthumous reputation occurred in 1833, when her novels were republished in Richard Bentley's Standard Novels series, illustrated by Ferdinand Pickering, and sold as a set. They gradually gained wider acclaim and popular readership. In 1869, fifty-two years after her death, her nephew's publication of A Memoir of Jane Austen introduced a compelling version of her writing career and supposedly uneventful life to an eager audience. Austen has inspired many critical essays and literary anthologies. Her novels have inspired many films, from 1940's Pride and Prejudice to more recent productions like Sense and Sensibility (1995), Emma (1996), Mansfield Park (1999), Pride & Prejudice (2005), Love & Friendship (2016), and Emma.[c] (2020)


Lit for Little Hands: Pride and Prejudice, Volume 1

Jane Austen and David Miles


Sanditon: & Other Stories (Collins Classics)

Jane Austen


Emma (Collins Classics)

Jane Austen


Pride and Prejudice (Collins Classics)

Jane Austen


GCSE English: Pride and Prejudice: The Student Edition with...

Jane Austen and Cby Publishing


Orgullo Y Prejuicio

Jane Austen and Dalia Adillon


Pride and Prejudice

Jane Austen and Christina Lupton


Jane Austen Boxed Set

Jane Austen


Sanditon: Austen's Last Novel

Jane Austen and Another Lady


Sense and Sensibility

Jane Austen


Lady Susan; The Watsons; Sanditon

Jane Austen


The Complete Novels of Jane Austen

Jane Austen



Jane Austen and Kate Riordan


Sanditon and Other Stories

Jane Austen


The Complete Jane Austen Collection

Jane Austen


Persuasion (Seasons Edition -- Summer)

Jane Austen


Estuche Jane Austen

Jane Austen and Dàlia Adillon


Women Who Wrote: Stories and Poems from Audacious Literary...

Jane Austen, Louisa May Alcott, et al.