Gretchen Woelfle


Gretchen Woelfle began writing for children by turning family history into short stories and has gone on to publish award-winning picture books, middle grade nonfiction, biographies, and historical fiction including The Wind at Work, Katje the Windmill Cat, and All the World's A Stage: A Novel in Five Acts. She is now focusing on biographies of unsung women in American history: Jeannette Rankin: Political Pioneer; Write on, Mercy! The Secret Life of Mercy Otis Warren; and Mumbet's Declaration of Independence. Visit Gretchen online at


Answering the Cry for Freedom: Stories of African Americans...

Gretchen Woelfle and R. Gregory Christie


Mumbet's Declaration of Independence

Gretchen Woelfle and Alix Delinois


Animal Families, Animal Friends

Gretchen Woelfle