Gerald Murnane


Gerald Murnane was born in Melbourne in 1939. He has been a primary teacher, an editor and a university lecturer. His debut novel, Tamarisk Row (1974), was followed by eleven other works of fiction, including The Plains, A Million Windows and, most recently, Border Districts [shortlisted for the Miles Franklin Award]. In 1999 Murnane won the Patrick White Award and in 2009 he won the Melbourne Prize for Literature. He received the 2018 Prime Minister's Literary Award for Fiction. He lives in western Victoria.


Border Districts: A Fiction

Gerald Murnane


The Plains

Gerald Murnane


Gerald Murnane: Another World in This One

Anthony Uhlmann