Denys Johnson-Davies


Denys Johnson-Davies has produced more than thirty volumes of translation of modern Arabic literature, including The Essential Tawfiq al-Hakim (AUC Press, 2008), The Essential Yusuf Idris (AUC Press, 2009), and The Essential Naguib Mahfouz (AUC Press, 2011). He was described by Edward Said as "the leading Arabic-English translator of our time." Johnson-Davies received the Sheikh Zayed Book Award in 2007 for Personality of the Year in the Field of Culture


Houses Behind the Trees (Univ of Texas PR)

Mohamed El-Bisatie and Muhammad Bisati


The Goodly Word: Al-Kalim Al-Tayyib

Ahmad Ibn Taymiyya


The Anchor Book of Modern Arabic Fiction

Denys Johnson-Davies


The Island of Animals

Denys Johnson-Davies, Naim Attallah, et al.


The Fate of a Prisoner

Denys Johnson-Davies


Forty Hadith

Yahya B. Sharaf Al-Nawawi


Season of Migration to the North

Tayeb Salih


The Wedding of Zein and Other Stories

Tayeb Salih


The Naguib Mahfouz Reader


The Lamp of Umm Hashim: And Other Stories

Yahya Hakki