David Bowles


A product of a Mexican-American family, David Bowles has lived most of his life in deep South Texas, where he teaches at the University of Texas Río Grande Valley. Recipient of awards from the American Library Association, Texas Institute of Letters and Texas Associated Press, David has written several books, including the Pura Belpré Honor Book The Smoking Mirror, Feathered Serpent, Dark Heart of Sky: Myths of Mexico, The Chupacabras of the Rio Grande (The Unicorn Rescue Society series), and the middle grade graphic novel Rise of the Halfling King (Tales of the Feathered Serpent #1).


Shattering and Bricolage

David Bowles


Border Lore Folktales and Legends of South Texas

David Bowles


Chupacabra Vengeance

David Bowles


El Verano de Las Mariposas

Guadalupe García McCall


A Kingdom Beneath the Waves

David Bowles


Lords Of The Earth: A Kaiju Novel

David Bowles


They Call Me Güero: A Border Kid's Poems

David Bowles


Mexican Bestiary: Bestiario Mexicano

David Bowles


The Black Dog of Driscoll

David Bowles and Marco Sanchez


Weslaco Seized by the Demon Hand

David Bowles and Angel Montenegro


Ghosts of the Rio Grande Valley

David Bowles and Jose Melendez