Bernadette Mayer


Bernadette Mayer was born in Brooklyn, New York, and received her B.A. from the New School for Social Research in 1967. She is the author of more than two dozen volumes of poetry including ETHICS OF SLEEP (2011), Poetry State Forest (2008), Scarlet Tanager (2005), Two Haloed Mourners (1998), ANOTHER SMASHED PINECONE (1998), Proper Name and Other Stories (1996), The Desires of Mothers to Please Others in Letters (1994), The Bernadette Mayer Reader (1992), The Formal Field of Kissing (1990), Sonnets (1989), Midwinter Day (1982), The Golden Book of Words (1978), and CEREMONY LATIN (1964). From 1972 to 1974, Mayer and conceptual artist Vito Acconci edited the journal 0 TO 9, and in 1977 she established United Artists Press with the poet Lewis Warsh. She has taught writing workshops at The Poetry Project at St. Mark's Church in New York City for many years, and she served as the Poetry Project's director during the 1980s. Bernadette Mayer lives in East Nassau, New York.


Ethics of Sleep

Bernadette Mayer


What's Your Idea of a Good Time? Interviews and Letters...

Bernadette Mayer and Bill Berkson


Desires Mothers to Please Others in Letters

Bernadette Mayer


The Cave

Clark Coolidge and Bernadette Mayer


Poetry State Forest

Bernadette Mayer


The Helens of Troy, New York

Bernadette Mayer


New Direction Poetry Pamphlets

Lydia Davis, Nathaniel Tarn, et al.


Works and Days

Bernadette Mayer


Studying Hunger Journals

Bernadette Mayer


Indigo Bunting

Bernadette Mayer