Zlateh the Goat and Other Stories

Isaac Bashevis Singer (Author) Maurice Sendak (Illustrator)
Backorder (temporarily out of stock)


Nobel laureate Isaac Bashevis Singer introduces readers to the village of Chelm in this Newbery Honor Book. Chelm is a village of fools. The most famous fools--the oldest and the greatest--are the seven Elders. But there are lesser fools too: a silly irresponsible bridegroom; four sisters who mix up their feed in bed one night; a young man who imagines himself dead. Here are seven magical folktales spun by a master storyteller, that speak of fools, devils, schlemiels, and even heroes--like Zlateh the goat.

The New York Times called Zlateh the Goat and Other Stories, beautiful stories for children, written by a master. The New York Book Review said, This book is a triumph. If you have no older children on your list, buy it for yourself. Singer's extraordinary book of folklore is illustrated by Maurice Sendak, who won a Caldecott Medal for Where the Wild Things Are.

Supports the Common Core State Standards

Product Details

$18.99  $17.47
Publish Date
May 22, 2001
6.42 X 0.69 X 9.18 inches | 0.95 pounds

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Isaac Bashevis Singer (1904-91) was the author of many novels, stories, and children's books. His books include The Slave and Gimpel the Fool and Other Stories. He received the Nobel Prize in Literature in 1978.

Maurice Sendak's children's books have sold over 30 million copies and have been translated into more than 40 languages. He received the 1964 Caldecott Medal for Where the Wild Things Are and is the creator of such classics as In the Night Kitchen, Outside Over There, Higglety Pigglety Pop!, and Nutshell Library. In 1970 he received the international Hans Christian Andersen Medal for Illustration, in 1983 he received the Laura Ingalls Wilder Award from the American Library Association, and in 1996 he received a National Medal of Arts in recognition of his contribution to the arts in America. In 2003, Sendak received the first Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award, an annual international prize for children's literature established by the Swedish government.


"Singer and Sendak for all ages -- how simple, how perfect! The first, 'Fool's Paradise, ' and the last, the title story, are masterpieces."--" The Kirkus Reviews""Beautiful stories for children, written by a master."--" The New York Times""Timeless tales with their subtle wisdom and universal appeal. Perfect read -- aloud fare for families."--" Parents' Magazine