Zero Day: China's Cyber Wars

T L Williams (Author) Emily Carmain (Editor)
Available

Description

For readers who enjoyed Tom Clancy and James Patterson thrillers, CIA veteran T. L. Williams unfolds a chilling--and highly conceivable--scenario in his latest novel, ZERO DAY: China's Cyber Wars. Moving between Chongqing, China and Langley, Virginia, this fast-paced spy thriller revolves around a plot by the Chinese government to seize the edge on global power by undermining the U.S. economy. Armed with an underground force of hackers, China's Ministry of Public Security (MPS) has a mission: to destroy confidence in the dollar by launching persistent, aggressive cyberattacks on America's banking system. Revenge--against the Communist Party for his father's shameful death, Li Jiang, a senior Public Security Bureau officer in Chongqing, lets America in on the covert details of China's masterful cyberattack plan. To vet and handle this potential asset, the CIA dispatches Logan Alexander, a former Navy SEAL, working undercover in Hong Kong, to China. Logan quickly comes to trust Li. But the brass back in Langley have doubts. Could Li be a double agent? Or could a trusted American be spying for the Chinese? Reviewed by the CIA, ZERO DAY is packed with authentic insider details. As discussed on FOX, NBC, CBS, ABC and NPR, Williams latest novel is a must read. KIRKUS Reviews, the Midwestern Book Review, Foreword Reviews and Creative Loafing have all praised Zero Day with critical acclaim.

ZERO DAY, the third book in the Logan Alexander series, follows the award-winning Cooper's Revenge and Unit 400: The Assassins.

Product Details

Price
$15.95  $14.67
Publisher
First Coast Publishers, LLC
Publish Date
February 01, 2017
Pages
346
Dimensions
5.5 X 0.77 X 8.5 inches | 0.97 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780988440067
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

T. L. Williams is a veteran Central Intelligence Agency Operations Officer with experience conducting and managing covert operations in Asia, Europe and Eastern Europe. He is the recipient of the American Political Science Association's Congressional Fellowship as well as a Tufts University Latin American Teaching Fellowship. Williams trained with Special Forces early in his career and subsequently supported the military around the globe. Prior to his tenure at CIA, Williams taught at the University of San Carlos in Guatemala City, worked for Bell Helicopter training the Imperial Iranian Army-Air Force in Esfahan, Iran and taught at Bunka University in Tokyo, Japan. His awards include the Nato Service Medal, CIA's Career Intelligence Medal, The Bosnian Service Medal and the National Intelligence Medal from the Government of Taiwan. The Ponte Vedra Beach-based writer holds degrees from Bridgewater State College, where he studied anthropology, philosophy and literature, the School for International Training, and Long Ridge Writer's Group. His award winning novel, Cooper's Revenge was published in 2013. The sequel, Unit 400 - The Assassins, which was released in January 2014 was awarded a 2014 Florida authors and Publishers President's Award. His third novel, Zero Day: China's Cyber Wars was published in February 2017, and is the recipient of the Florida Authors and Publishers Association's 2017 Presidents Gold Medal for fiction and the Florida Writer's Association's Silver Royal Palm Literary Award. He recently completed his fourth novel, The Last Caliph. Williams is a member of Our Lady Star of the Sea Catholic Church, The Florida Authors and Publishers Association, The Florida Writers Association, The World Affairs Council, The Association of Former Intelligence Officers, American Pilgrims on the Camino, and Micklers Landing Turtle Patrol. He and his wife live in Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida.

Reviews

"The plot races at breakneck speed and artfully combines grand geopolitical drama with political plausibility. There is no shortage of bureaucratic and technological complexity, and readers looking for a breezy adventure story might find the details daunting. But Williams has produced a believable, timely tale brimming with cinematic power. A skillfully rendered account of superpowers locked in covert war." KIRKUS Reviews

"Zero Day: China's Cyber Wars comes with a particularly realistic feel, offering fans of spy thrillers and international espionage, a well-written, high-octane piece of fiction as it moves from China to Virginia in its pursuit of an all-too-realistic scenario of a Chinese plotto control America by undermining its economy." MIDWEST BOOK REVIEWS

"T.L. Williams' Zero Day is a complex, smart, and timely drama about virtual warfare. It is a fascinating and highly relevant thriller with invigorating elements of realism." Foreword Reviews

"Williams spins an hypnotic story, eerie in its timeliness and credibility where he effectively dramatizes the menacing world we face as he investigates troubling issues that we are actually experiencing in our daily lives." Book Pleasures

"Cyberwars have complex offensive and defensive elements, and Mr. Williams portrays the technological strategies and tactics in fascinating detail. He brinks us to the highest level of the U.S. security establishment and shows its bureaucratic workings, allowing readers to eavesdrop on the decision-making conversations of the key players. He also takes us into their private thoughts" Phil Jason, Florida Weekly