Young Jane Young

Gabrielle Zevin (Author)
Available

Product Details

Price
$15.95  $14.67
Publisher
Algonquin Books
Publish Date
May 01, 2018
Pages
320
Dimensions
5.4 X 0.9 X 8.2 inches | 0.7 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781616208691
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Gabrielle Zevin is the New York Times bestselling author of several novels including, The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry, The Hole We're In, and Margarettown, Elsewhere/I>, Memoirs of a Teenage Amnesiac, and the Anya Balanchine series. The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry spent four months on the New York Times Bestseller List.

Reviews

"This sly, exhilarating novel takes on slut-shaming . . . and manages to be hilarious in the process."
--People(Book of the Week)

"Maybe with enough determination and love and support, women can choose their own adventures. They can start, like Aviva, by choosing not to be ashamed. In this life-affirming novel, Zevin doesn't make that look easy, but she makes it look possible."
--Ron Charles, The Washington Post

"It's brilliant and hilarious, and it makes you wince in recognition--for the double-standard that relegates scandalized women to a life of shame even as their married lovers continue with their careers (and often their marriages), for the insatiable appetite we have for every last detail, for the ease and speed with which we stop seeing people as multilayered humans. It's the sort of book that invites us to examine our long-held beliefs and perceptions . . . It has a heart. And a spine. It's exactly, I would argue, what we need more of right now."
--Chicago Tribune

"A smart, intersectional feminist tour de force."
--Washington Times

"Another charming and funny winner by the author of the 2014 best seller The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry, about a woman at midlife confronting, along with her mom and daughter, a sex scandal from her youth. The perfect end-of-summer read."
--AARP, The Magazine

"[A] warm-hearted and witty book about what it means to reinvent yourself because you simply have no choice but to do so."
--BookRiot

"This book will not only thoroughly entertain everyone who reads it; it is the most immaculate takedown of slut-shaming in literature or anywhere else. Cheers, and gratitude to the author."
--Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"Splendid . . . A witty, strongly drawn group of female voices tells Aviva's story . . . [Zevin] has created a fun and frank tale. Her vibrant and playful writing, and the fully realized characters taking turns as narrator, bring the story a zestful energy, even while exploring dark themes of secrecy and betrayal. Zevin perfectly captures the realities of the current political climate and the consequences of youthful indiscretions in an era when the Internet never forgets."
--Booklist

"Presenting a sharp send-up of our culture's obsession with scandal and blame, this novel pulls at the seams of misogyny from all angles . . . Likely to be a popular book club pick."
--Library Journal

"Satisfying and entertaining."
--Publishers Weekly