Written in the Stars

Available

Description

I was hooked from the very first page!" - Christina Lauren, New York Times bestselling author of In a Holidaze

An Indie Next and Library Reads Pick!

With nods to Bridget Jones and Pride & Prejudice, this debut is a delightful #ownvoices queer rom-com about a free-spirited social media astrologer who agrees to fake a relationship with an uptight actuary until New Year's Eve--with results not even the stars could predict!

After a disastrous blind date, Darcy Lowell is desperate to stop her well-meaning brother from playing matchmaker ever again. Love--and the inevitable heartbreak--is the last thing she wants. So she fibs and says her latest set up was a success. Darcy doesn't expect her lie to bite her in the ass.

Elle Jones, one of the astrologers behind the popular Twitter account Oh My Stars, dreams of finding her soul mate. But she knows it is most assuredly not Darcy... a no-nonsense stick-in-the-mud, who is way too analytical, punctual, and skeptical for someone as free-spirited as Elle. When Darcy's brother--and Elle's new business partner--expresses how happy he is that they hit it off, Elle is baffled. Was Darcy on the same date? Because... awkward.

Darcy begs Elle to play along and she agrees to pretend they're dating. But with a few conditions: Darcy must help Elle navigate her own overbearing family during the holidays and their arrangement expires on New Year's Eve. The last thing they expect is to develop real feelings during a faux relationship. But maybe opposites can attract when true love is written in the stars?

Everything I want from a rom-com: fun, whimsical, sexy. - Talia Hibbert, USA Today bestselling author of Get a Life, Chloe Brown

Product Details

Price
$15.99  $14.71
Publisher
Avon Books
Publish Date
November 10, 2020
Pages
384
Dimensions
5.3 X 8.0 X 1.0 inches | 0.55 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780063000803

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Alexandria Bellefleur is an author of swoony contemporary romance often featuring loveable grumps and the sunshine characters who bring them to their knees. A Pacific Northwesterner at heart, Alexandria has a weakness for good coffee, Pike Place IPA, and Voodoo Doughnuts. Her special skills include finding the best Pad Thai in every city she visits, remembering faces but not names, falling asleep in movie theaters, and keeping cool while reading smutty books in public. She was a 2018 Romance Writers of America Golden Heart finalist. You can find her at www.alexandriabellefleur.com or on Twitter @ambellefleur.

Reviews

WRITTEN IN THE STARS had me hooked from the first page. It's an adorable and heartfelt romance with everything I adore: a killer meet-cute, loads of cute banter, steamy love scenes, all the feels, and a happily ever after that left me in happy tears. I fell head over heels for Elle and Darcy's love story. Alexandria Bellefleur's debut will have readers seeing stars in the best way." --Sarah Smith, author of Faker & Simmer Down
"Written in the Stars is what you might get if your favorite Instagram astrologer wrote you an adorable romance novel. Delightful, funny and sweet, with just the right touch of woo-woo." --Scarlett Peckham, USA Today bestselling author
"Written in the Stars is everything I want from a romcom: fun, whimsical, sexy. This modern Pride & Prejudice glitters with romance." --Talia Hibbert, USA Today bestselling author of Get a Life, Chloe Brown
A dazzling debut! The perfect combination of humor and heart really makes this book shine." --Rachel Lacey, author of Don't Cry for Me
"With perfectly woven vulnerability and playfulness, Written in the Stars is a riotous and heartfelt read. I was hooked from the very first page!" --Christina Lauren, New York Times bestselling author of In a Holidaze
A disastrous blind date kicks off Bellefleur's excellent rom-com debut... Readers will be rapt by the sensuous love scenes once Darcy and Elle throw pretense aside... A moving subplot about Elle's fight for her family's acceptance rounds out the story, while astrology memes ("What brunch food are you based on your zodiac?") and nods to Pride and Prejudice scattered throughout add texture. This is a delight.--Publishers Weekly (starred review)
If you love the fake-dating trope, you won't want to miss Written in the Stars.--Bustle
[A]wkward first dates lead to passionate first kisses and time spent together reveals there is more to both women than meets the eye... Fans of pop culture-inspired astrology sites will love the effortless and entertaining way the author weaves zodiac memes throughout the text. The stars align in this charming queer rom-com.--Kirkus Reviews
Written in the Stars abounds with optimism and empathy for its characters, its wit always undergirded by sweetness. This is a comfort read, at a time when many of us need one badly, and a sparkling debut for Bellefleur. --Olivia Dade, author of Spoiler Alert
Bellefleur's debut sprinkles amusing listicles throughout the text as Elle and Darcy cautiously move from uneasy allies to friends to something more. Well-developed leads, relatable conflicts, a strong supporting cast, and opposites-attract chemistry make for an engaging read. Fans of Alexis Hall's Boyfriend Material and Talia Hibbert's Take a Hint, Dani Brown will enjoy this Seattle-set love story that reads like a romantic holiday movie.--Booklist
Polar opposites come together in Bellefleur's cheerful #ownvoices debut... A dash of Pride and Prejudice and Bridget Jones's Diary, mixed with a fresh, millennial f/f twist of opposites attract.--Library Journal
"There are many, many Pride and Prejudice retellings out there, but Written in the Stars by Alexandria Bellefleur might just be the best." --Popsugar (Best New Romance Books in November)