Where Dreams Descend

Janella Angeles (Author)
Available

Product Details

Price
$18.99  $17.47
Publisher
Wednesday Books
Publish Date
August 25, 2020
Pages
464
Dimensions
6.2 X 9.3 X 1.5 inches | 1.45 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781250204356

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

JANELLA ANGELES is a Filipino-American bestselling author who got her start in writing through consuming glorious amounts of fanfiction at a young age--which eventually led to penning a few of her own, and later on, creating original stories from her imagination. A lifelong lover of books, she's lucky enough to be working in the business of publishing them on top of writing them. She currently resides in Massachusetts, where she's most likely to be found listening to musicals on repeat and daydreaming too much for her own good. Where Dreams Descend is her first book.

Reviews

BOOK RIOT, 8 of The Best Magical Cities in YA Books

BUSINESS INSIDER, The 33 best new books to read this spring - according to Goodreads

BUZZFEED
, 29 YA Fantasy Books We Can't Wait To Read In 2020

CULTURESS, 20 upcoming YA books we can't wait to read in 2020

EPIC READS, 26 YA Retellings That You Should Be Looking Forward to in 2020

GOODREADS, The 38 Most Anticipated YA Novels of 2020

THE NERD DAILY, The Most Anticipated 2020 Book Releases and 20 SFF YA Debuts To Watch Out For In 2020

POPSUGAR, 27 Exciting Debut Authors You Can Support During the Shutdowns

ASIAN JOURNAL, Anticipated 2020 book releases by Filipino & Fil-Am authors

THE YOUNG FOLKS, 10 Spring 2020 Reads That Prove Books and Music Go Hand-In-Hand

A lush, captivating blend of The Phantom of the Opera and fresh, new magic. ...As the romantic tension ratchets up, so deepen the mysteries. Readers will ache for the next installment. - KIRKUS (Starred Review)

Readers will find themselves quickly immersed in this quirky, well-paced tale of danger, adventure, and magic. The enigmatic ending reassures fans that the mysteries have answers that are yet to be discovered, and that there is more to come in the second part of this Kingdom of Cards duology. Give this to those who enjoyed Cole's Arcana Chronicles or Powell's Game of Triumphs twosome. - BOOKLIST

Angeles's deep commitment to world-building means that this debut novel has atmosphere galore. It's lush and amazing at every turn, with fire, smoke, mirrors, costumes, and more. - SCHOOL LIBRARY JOURNAL

Perfect for fans of Moulin Rouge and The Phantom of the Opera, Angeles' debut is spectacular, spectacular! - BUZZFEED

If you're looking for a spectacle of a read, look no further than Where Dreams Descend, which is so atmospheric you will feel like your world is sparkling. - BITCH MEDIA, 25 YA Novels Feminists Should Read in 2020

Janella Angeles steals the 2020 show with her fiercely imagined debut starring larger than life characters, a dangerous world alive with magic, and a dizzying dose of grab-a-fainting-couch-and-swoon-away romance! - Roshani Chokshi, New York Times bestselling author of The Gilded Wolves

Where Dreams Descend is a glamorous dark gem of a tale, sparkling with romance, magic, and intrigue. Readers will be captivated by prima donna Kallia as the mystery is slowly unmasked. Bravissima! - Julie C. Dao, author of Forest of a Thousand Lanterns

"Lavish and opulent in a way that feels warmly familiar yet demands your attention. There are secrets upon secrets, a girl who's boldly ambitious, and truly riveting stage magic. I didn't want the show to stop." - Emily A. Duncan, New York Times bestselling author of Wicked Saints

Vibrant imagery, jaw-dropping set pieces, sizzling romantic tension, and unstoppable heroine Kallia bring this ambitious debut novel to spectacular life. Fans of Caraval and The Night Circus will be delighted! - Claire Legrand, New York Times bestselling author of Furyborn

[A] spellbinding melody of a book, and the true magic is how Angeles puts all the best parts of an enrapturing theatrical performance onto paper and ink. From the gripping twists in the first pages all the way to the final, heartbreaking crescendo, Where Dreams Descend will surge you to your feet in a standing ovation." - Sara Raasch, New York Times bestselling author of the Snow Like Ashes trilogy