What Was Mine: A Book Club Recommendation!

Helen Klein Ross (Author)
Available

Product Details

Price
$16.00
Publisher
Gallery Books
Publish Date
January 05, 2016
Pages
336
Dimensions
5.3 X 1.0 X 8.1 inches | 0.6 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781476732350
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Helen Klein Ross is the author of two novels: What Was Mine and Making It: A Novel Of Madison Avenue and creator of The Traveler's Vade Mecum, an anthology of new poems titled by old telegrams. Her poetry, essays and fiction have appeared in The New Yorker, The New York Times and literary journals. Helen spent decades as a writer/creative director at global ad agencies on both coasts. She graduated from Cornell University and received an MFA from The New School. She lives with her husband in New York City and Salisbury, CT.

Reviews

"Helen Klein Ross has written a truly brilliant book. I'm obsessed by the change this book made in my thinking of what is, and what is not, forgivable."--Abigail Thomas, New York Times bestselling author of A Three Dog Life
"Not only a terrific, spellbinding read but a fascinating meditation on the choices we make and the way we love."--Elin Hilderbrand, New York Times bestselling author of The Rumor
"In a tale ripe with opportunities for drama, Helen Klein Ross never puts a foot wrong. She lets the story tell itself, and in so doing heightens both suspense and emotional impact. Readers will be moved to understanding, but never to judgmentalism. A stellar performance, and highly recommended."--Ann Arensberg, National Book Award winner
"Helen Klein Ross writes with such emotion from all sides."--Fresh Fiction
"What Was Mine is an emotionally-grounded read...By giving readers the chance to examine what may be unforgivable, Ross brings an entirely new twist to the usual abduction story. Fans of Gillian Flynn and Maria Semple will enjoy the intensely introspective What Was Mine."--Booklist
"A powerful plot told with exactly the right approach, What Was Mine is capable of sparking plenty of discussion, whether it is over a water cooler, in a book club or simply in the reader's mind."
--Shelf Awareness
"A compelling and moving story that asks many questions about family, love, and justice... Moving at a hard-to-put-down, breathless pace, this is suspenseful fiction at its best."
--Library Journal (starred review)
"A suspenseful, moving look at twisted maternal love and the limits of forgiveness."
--People Magazine (Best New Books Pick)
"Helen Klein Ross--like Amity Gaige with Schroder, or Emma Donoghue with Room--takes a shocking premise and uses it to illuminate our human condition. A writer of compelling lucidity and vivid precision, she has compassion for all her characters."--Claire Messud, New York Times bestselling author of The Woman Upstairs
"Sometimes heartbreaking, sometimes joyous, and always riveting, What Was Mine masterfully makes you question where your sympathy should lie at every turn. I couldn't put down this fast-paced, fascinating psychological study of motherhood."--Lynn Cullen, bestselling author of Twain's End and Mrs. Poe
"Ross crafts a surprisingly sensitive meditation on the definitions of family and motherhood around a ripped-from-the-tabloids story... Ross deftly creates genuinely sympathetic characters and emotionally resonant prose around what could have felt sensationalistic."
--Publishers Weekly
"Helen Klein Ross pulled me into her intimate tale of loss, love, redemption, and forgiveness that had me turning pages long into the night. You'll fall in love with What Was Mine." --Marci Nault, author of The Lake House