Welcome to the Slipstream

Natalka Burian (Author)
Available

Description

For fans of Laurie Halse Anderson's Speak and Judy Gregerson's Bad Girls Club, this is a deeply moving and exquisite novel about a girl traumatized by her mother's serious mental illness, and the steps she takes to save her from destruction.

Bright lights, big trouble.

When Van arrives in Las Vegas at the upscale Silver Saddle casino with her mother--a brilliant businesswoman with fragile mental health--she learns that her mother assigned her a college student, Alex, to "babysit" her. Van is used to having to land on her feet--her mother and surrogate grandmother move from city to city all the time like corporate nomads, but she is not thrilled to have someone watching her now.

When Alex introduces Van, a talented musician, to an all-girl Sleater-Kinney-style band, she finally has a chance to let her guitar skills shine. But just as she's about to play her first gig, her mother is lured to Arizona by a con man promising a "vision quest," and Van must go on the road to find and save her mom from a self-help cult that could ultimately destroy her.

Product Details

Price
$18.99
Publisher
Simon Pulse
Publish Date
June 06, 2017
Pages
272
Dimensions
5.7 X 0.9 X 8.5 inches | 1.0 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781507200759
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Natalka Burian is the cofounder of the Freya Project, a nonprofit reading series that supports community-based activism and the work of women and nonbinary writers. She is the author of Welcome to the Slipstream, a young adult book, and the cocktail cookbook A Woman's Drink, and is the co-owner of two bars, Elsa and Ramona. This is her debut adult novel.

Reviews

"At its heart, Welcome to the Slipstream is about what it truly means to save someone."--Sandy Hall, author of A Little Something Different
"Natalka Burian's Van is a furious misfit, a genuine punk-rock genius, and quite possibly crazy. But I will read this book again and again . . . if it means I can keep listening to all the true things she has to say."--Louisa Luna, author of Brave New Girl
"Welcome to the Slipstream had me from the get-go. From the incredible cast of characters to Burian's sharp prose, this debut novel was impossible to put down. Gorgeous and complicated, this is a book you won't soon forget."--Jessica Valenti, New York Times bestselling author
"Readers ... will be enthralled by Burian's eerie depictions of the Sedona community and left pondering the deep emotional complexities of parent-child relationships."--Kirkus Reviews