Weekends with Max and His Dad

Linda Urban (Author) Katie Kath (Illustrator)
Backorder (temporarily out of stock)

Product Details

Price
$6.99
Publisher
Houghton Mifflin
Publish Date
April 17, 2018
Pages
176
Dimensions
5.0 X 7.75 X 0.25 inches | 0.35 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781328900197

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Linda Urban's debut novel, A Crooked Kind of Perfect, was nominated for twenty state awards. A former bookseller, she lives in East Montpelier, Vermont. Visit her at lindaurbanbooks.com.
Katie Kath is the illustrator of many middle grade novels and several picture books. She lives in North Carolina. Visit her at ktkath.com.

Reviews

Bulletin Blue Ribbon 2016
Raleigh News & Observer Best of 2016


"Fans of Clementine and Ramona have a reason to rejoice: there's a new kid on the block (at least for the weekend). Bighearted, hilarious, and tender, Weekends with Max and His Dad is an absolute charmer." --Katherine Applegate, Newbery medalist

* "Urban's subtle and perceptive take on divorce will resonate with children facing similar predicaments as she blends Max's worries and "someone-sitting-on-his-chest" feelings with a vivid imagination and good intentions that take father and son on some very entertaining adventures--with future ones planned."
--Publishers Weekly, starred review

* "Urban excels at credibly presenting this situation from Max's third-grade point of view... Urban's writing is both crisply specific (a basset hound "sniffed as she walked through puddles, dragging her ears like flat-bottomed boats") and simple enough to be accessible."
--Bulletin, starred review

"Urban's touch is light throughout, and with likable characters... and a story just right for budding chapter-book readers, she's off to a good start."
--Horn Book

"The cast of characters grows throughout, but at the heart of the story is Max's warm, easygoing relationship with his father."
--Booklist