Volcanoes, Palm Trees & Privilege: Essays on Hawai'i

Liz Prato (Author)
Available

Description

". . . a rebuke to cultural appropriation, combined with tribute to a place she loves too much to make her own."- New York Times Book Review

"...a complicated love letter to a place and powerful reckoning of a life." - Cheryl Strayed, author of Wild and Tiny Beautiful Things

"Prato's work stays winningly informal and idiosyncratic throughout and....coalesces into an intriguing and informative journey through the 50th state." - Publishers Weekly

"This book is a love letter to the land and people of Hawai'i, a secular devotional to a place that has woven its way into Liz Prato's heart. Breathtaking." - Lidia Yuknavitch, author of The Book of Joan

Liz Prato combines lyricism, research and humor to explore her role as a white tourist in a seemingly paradisiacal land that has been largely formed and destroyed by white outsiders. Hawaiian history, pop culture, and contemporary affairs are masterfully woven with her personal narrative of loss and survival in linked essays, offering unique insight into how the touristic ideal of Hawai'i came to be, and what Hawai'i is at its core.

Product Details

Price: $15.95  $14.67
Publisher: Overcup Press
Published Date: April 16, 2019
Pages: 224
Dimensions: 5.5 X 0.8 X 8.5 inches | 1.2 pounds
Language: English
Type: Paperback
ISBN: 9781732610309

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Liz Prato is also the author of the short story collection Baby's on Fire: Stories published in 2015 (Press 53). Her work has appeared in over two dozen literary journals, including The Rumpus, Baltimore Review, and Salon. She is Editor at Large for Forest Avenue Press. Liz teaches in Portland and at literary festivals across the country. She lives in a house in the woods with her husband, an indie bookseller and writer.

Reviews

"For fans of Sarah Vowell and Kaui Hart Hemmings...a must-read that explores the islands' mythos and reality...as the author comes to understand her relationship with the islands through the crucible of family." -Kristiana Kahakauwila, author of This Is Paradise
"...Liz Prato is beautifully smart about how about how disempowerment works, and how to combat it." - Jim Shepard, author of The World to Come