Visitation Street

(Author)
Backorder (temporarily out of stock)

Product Details

Price
$15.99
Publisher
Ecco Press
Publish Date
Pages
320
Dimensions
5.2 X 7.9 X 0.8 inches | 0.55 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780062249906
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Ivy Pochoda is the author of The Art of Disappearing, Visitation Street, and Wonder Valley, a Los Angeles Times Book Prize finalist and winner of the Strand Critics Award. She lives in Los Angeles.

Reviews

"Exquisitely written, Pochoda's poignant second novel examines how residents of Brooklyn's Red Hook neighborhood deal with grief, urban development, loss, and teenage angst. ... Pochoda couples a raw-edged, lyrical look at characters' innermost fears with an evocative view of Red Hook."--Publishers Weekly (starred review)
"Visitation Street has a wonderfully eerie and intriguing premise...but it's the evocation of place, the spot-on rendering of a diverse cast of characters, and the poetic pitch of the writing that elevates the book into the sphere of literature."--Library Journal
"A stunner of a literary thriller. Grade A-" -Entertainment Weekly--Entertainment Weekly
"Utterly transporting."-People--People
"Visitation Street explores a community's response to tragedy with crystalline prose, a dose of the uncanny, and an unblinking eye for both human frailty and resilience. Marvelous."--Deborah Harkness, bestselling author of A Discovery of Witches
"Ivy Pochoda makes the saltiness of Brooklyn's Red Hook come to life so vividly that every time I looked up from the pages of this intoxicating novel, I was surprised not to be there. Visitation Street is imbued with mystery and danger.--Emma Straub, author of Laura Lamont's Life in Pictures
"Visitation Street is urban opera writ large. Gritty and magical, filled with mystery, poetry and pain, Ivy Pochoda's voice recalls Richard Price, Junot Diaz, and even Alice Sebold, yet it's indelibly her own."--Dennis Lehane
"Visitation Street [is] beautiful, haunting. Ivy Pochoda brings forth the full palette of human emotions in this gripping urban drama, a story that hurts you on one page and gives you hope on the next. A marvelous novel."--Michael Koryta, award winning author of So Cold the River
"Pochoda's premise is inspired, the novel that unfolds even more so. Rich characters, surprising shifts of plot and mood. I loved it." -Lionel Shriver, award winning author of We Need to Talk About Kevin--Lionel Shriver, award winning author of We Need to Talk About Kevin
"VISITATION STREET is a quiet, literary thriller told in lyrical, exacting prose. It's in the vein of Donna Tartt's "The Secret History" or Alice Sebold's "The Lovely Bones"--Los Angeles Times"--Los Angeles Times
"A powerfully beautiful novel" - Marilyn Stasio, New York Times Book Review--New York Times Book Review
"Rich with characters and mood . . . Red Hook itself feels like a character-hard-worn, isolated from the rest of New York, left behind and forgotten. A terrific story in the vein of Dennis Lehane's fiction."--Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
"[R]iveting...will keep readers enthralled until the final page. The prose is so lyrical and detailed that readers will easily imagine themselves in Red Hook. A great read for those who enjoy urban mysteries and thrillers with a literary flair."--Library Journal (starred review)