Visitation Street

Ivy Pochoda (Author)
Available

Description

One scorching summer night, two teenage girls decide to take a trip on a homemade raft. They disappear in the bay, and only one of them is later found, unconscious. Jonathan, the girls' teacher, is determined to uncover the girl's deepest sins and secrets.

Product Details

Price: $15.99
Publisher: Ecco Press
Published Date: April 15, 2014
Pages: 320
Dimensions: 5.2 X 1.0 X 7.9 inches | 0.55 pounds
ISBN: 9780062249906
BISAC Categories:

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Ivy Pochoda graduated from Harvard University with a degree in Classical Greek and English. She was a champion squash player and a six-time member of the United States Women's National Squash Team. She was the Spring 2009 James Merrill House Writer-in-Residence. She lives in Brooklyn, New York. The Art of Disappearing is her first novel.

Reviews

"Exquisitely written, Pochoda's poignant second novel examines how residents of Brooklyn's Red Hook neighborhood deal with grief, urban development, loss, and teenage angst. ... Pochoda couples a raw-edged, lyrical look at characters' innermost fears with an evocative view of Red Hook."--Publishers Weekly (starred review)
"Visitation Street has a wonderfully eerie and intriguing premise...but it's the evocation of place, the spot-on rendering of a diverse cast of characters, and the poetic pitch of the writing that elevates the book into the sphere of literature."--Library Journal
"A stunner of a literary thriller. Grade A-" -Entertainment Weekly--Entertainment Weekly
"Utterly transporting."-People--People
"Visitation Street explores a community's response to tragedy with crystalline prose, a dose of the uncanny, and an unblinking eye for both human frailty and resilience. Marvelous."--Deborah Harkness, bestselling author of A Discovery of Witches
"Ivy Pochoda makes the saltiness of Brooklyn's Red Hook come to life so vividly that every time I looked up from the pages of this intoxicating novel, I was surprised not to be there. Visitation Street is imbued with mystery and danger.--Emma Straub, author of Laura Lamont's Life in Pictures
"Visitation Street is urban opera writ large. Gritty and magical, filled with mystery, poetry and pain, Ivy Pochoda's voice recalls Richard Price, Junot Diaz, and even Alice Sebold, yet it's indelibly her own."--Dennis Lehane
"Visitation Street [is] beautiful, haunting. Ivy Pochoda brings forth the full palette of human emotions in this gripping urban drama, a story that hurts you on one page and gives you hope on the next. A marvelous novel."--Michael Koryta, award winning author of So Cold the River
"Pochoda's premise is inspired, the novel that unfolds even more so. Rich characters, surprising shifts of plot and mood. I loved it." -Lionel Shriver, award winning author of We Need to Talk About Kevin--Lionel Shriver, award winning author of We Need to Talk About Kevin
"VISITATION STREET is a quiet, literary thriller told in lyrical, exacting prose. It's in the vein of Donna Tartt's "The Secret History" or Alice Sebold's "The Lovely Bones"--Los Angeles Times"--Los Angeles Times
"A powerfully beautiful novel" - Marilyn Stasio, New York Times Book Review--New York Times Book Review
"Rich with characters and mood . . . Red Hook itself feels like a character-hard-worn, isolated from the rest of New York, left behind and forgotten. A terrific story in the vein of Dennis Lehane's fiction."--Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
"[R]iveting...will keep readers enthralled until the final page. The prose is so lyrical and detailed that readers will easily imagine themselves in Red Hook. A great read for those who enjoy urban mysteries and thrillers with a literary flair."--Library Journal (starred review)