Violet Mackerel's Brilliant Plot

Anna Branford (Author) Elanna Allen (Illustrator)
Available

Product Details

Price
$5.99  $5.51
Publisher
Atheneum Books for Young Readers
Publish Date
August 28, 2012
Pages
102
Dimensions
5.5 X 7.3 X 0.5 inches | 0.2 pounds
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781442435865

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

Anna Branford was born on the Isle of Man and spent parts of her childhood in Africa and in Papua New Guinea. Now she lives in Melbourne, Australia, with a large black cat called Florence. She writes, drinks cups of tea in her garden, and makes dolls and other small things, which she sells at early morning markets. Anna is the author of the Violet Mackerel series. Visit her at AnnaBranford.com.

Elanna Allen lives in New York with her husband and sons, where she writes and illustrates children's books and designs characters for television. She wrote and illustrated Itsy Mitsy Runs Away and has created characters for Disney, Nickelodeon, and PBS. Stop by and say hi at ElannaAllen.com.

Reviews

"A collection of small things and a generous gesture win Violet Mackerel the Blue China Bird she's admired for weeks at the Saturday-morning market....The gentle, present-tense narration reflects the thinking of an imaginative and quite determined 7-year-old, following the model of elders who envision goals and work toward them. She's not always realistic about her own abilities. Her theory of the importance of small things mirrors the series of small moments that make the story.... Allen's grayscale drawings enliven almost every page.... Violet and her family are original and appealing, a lovely addition to any chapter-book collection of characters."--Kirkus Reviews, June 13, 2012
"Violet is a true original: a complicated heroine for new readers who is neither stereotypically spunky nor silly. She needs her mother's gentle guidance but is able to solve little problems all by herself. Will there be a sequel? Let's hope so."--Horn Book Magazine, September/October 2012
"Violet has a marvelous world view.... Debut author Branford and illustrator Allen offer up a charming new chapter book star, who is sure to appeal to fans of Sara Pennypacker's Clementine or Paula Danzinger's Amber Brown."--Booklist Online
"7-year-old Violet desperately wants a beautiful china bird from the flea market. But to raise the ten bucks to buy it, she'll need to master a new skill: outside-the-box thinking. The results are as warm as VIolet is funny, and the tale ends on the sweetest of notes."--FamilyFun Magazine
"This is a sweet story about a likable little girl who just longs for something small...there is definitely an audience for a quiet but creative heroine. Black-and-white drawings, some full page, add touches of whimsy and humor. A charming easy reader that also serves as a thoughtful, gentle read-aloud."--School Library Journal, December 2012
"Large type on roomy pages ushers newly minted chapter book readers into the world of charming and resourceful Violet Mackerel.... Generous artwork--sometimes cameo-size, other times anchoring a two-page spread--provides a window into Violet's daily life.

Violet gives girls what Captain Awesome gives boys: a strong character, a large dose of comedy and a sense of adventure."--Shelf Awareness, November 30, 2012