Victoria: A Novel of a Young Queen by the Creator/Writer of the Masterpiece Presentation on PBS

Available

Product Details

Price
$34.99  $32.19
Publisher
St. Martin's Press
Publish Date
Pages
416
Dimensions
6.7 X 9.3 X 1.4 inches | 1.3 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9781250045461

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favorite books through our Affiliate program.

Become an affiliate

About the Author

DAISY GOODWIN is the author of the New York Times bestselling novels The American Heiress and The Fortune Hunter. She is a Harkness Scholar who attended Columbia University's film school after earning a degree in history at Cambridge University, and was Chair of the judging panel of the 2010 Orange Prize for Fiction. The creator and screenwriter of the Masterpiece presentation Victoria on PBS, she lives in London

Reviews

NATIONAL BESTSELLER

"In Victoria, Daisy Goodwin's lively and effervescent novel, the range of her storytelling is rich...Goodwin's queen has all the makings of a captivating human paradox."
--The New York Times Book Review

"An intimate portrait of an extremely bright but painfully lonely teenage girl who one day had only pets and dolls for company and the next was regent of England."
--The New York Post

"[An] irresistible love story...Fans of Downton, The Crown, etc., will want to dive right in."
-People

"Victoria is an absolutely captivating novel of youth, love, and the often painful transition from immaturity to adulthood. Daisy Goodwin breathes new life into Victoria's story, and does so with sensitivity, verve, and wit."
-Amanda Foreman

"An absolute dream of a read - charming, shrewd and well paced."
--The Virginian-Pilot

"Irresistible...[A] rich and passionate historical novel."
-Publishers Weekly

"Goodwin's grasp of the background is impeccable, and she has an instinct for the delicious details that turn a history lesson into cracking fiction...doing full justice to the spirit and independence that made [Victoria] one of our greatest monarchs."
-The Times

"Fans of character-driven storylines will relish witnessing Victoria's transition from immaturity to adulthood."
-Real Simple, "Best New Books to Read This Month: November"

"A deep exploration of a well-known character who hasn't quite become who she's going to be...A wonderful read."
-Toronto Star

"Fun, romantic, and suited for both adult and teenage readers."
-Kirkus Reviews

"Goodwin demonstrates her admirable ability to fuse wide-ranging knowledge of the period with lively storytelling skills."
-Sunday Times (UK)

"Highly recommended...Bestselling Goodwin always draws in fans."
-Booklist

"[Victoria] will sweep you away. It sumptuously brings to life the tale of Victoria's ascension to the throne, her battles with her mother and her relationship with her Prime Minister, Lord Melbourne. I loved the detail in this novel, and tore through it."
-Stylist (UK)

"A hit...The research is impeccable, the attention to detail--from protocol to petticoats--perfect, and it brings the formidable figure of Victoria to sparkling life."
-Sunday Mirror (UK)

"How the scenario of mentor versus love interest plays out isthe author's unique concept, and it is accomplished with deft characterization and an easy flowing storyline. It is highly recommended for readers of royalty fiction."
--Historical Novel Society

Additional Praise for Daisy Goodwin

"Ms. Goodwin writes deliciously."
-Janet Maslin, The New York Times on The American Heiress

"A shrewd, spirited historical romance with flavors of Edith Wharton, Daphne du Maurier, Jane Austen, Upstairs, Downstairs, and a dash of People magazine...Superior entertainment."
-Kirkus Reviews (starred) on The American Heiress

"Gorgeous...the perfect storm of escapism, suspense, romance, and superb historical research."
-The Times (UK) on The Fortune Hunter

"A luxurious indulgence...Goodwin writes with effortless grace, and her dialogue's subtle wit is delightful."
-Booklist on The Fortune Hunter

s